Arkansas Board of Examiners in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
NOTICE OF RULEMAKING
Pursuant to Arkansas Code Annotated §25-15-201 et seq., notice is hereby given that the Arkansas State Board of Examiners in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology is considering proposed revisions to its Rules.
The proposed revisions and modifications to the Rules include, but are not limited to, the following subjects and issues: In accordance with Act 137 of 2023, permits the Board to accept relevant and applicable uniformed service education, training, national certification, or service-issued credential toward licensure qualifications or requirements when considering an application for initial licensure of an individual listed in Ark. Code Ann. § 17-4-104.
The Board will accept public comments on the proposed rule changes beginning December 21, 2023, and concluding on January 19, 2024. Written comments from the public should be emailed to email@example.com or mailed to ADH-Arkansas Board of Examiners in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, 4815 W. Markham, Slot 72, Little Rock, AR 72205-3867. The Board will discuss any public comments received at their next public meeting, which will be scheduled following the conclusion of the public comment period. Comments must be received during the public comment period to be considered by the Board.
Announcements & Resources:
- Guidelines for Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology Routine Care Reopening.
- Are you completing the Clinical Fellowship or a recent graduate? Read this for important licensure information.
- Requests for licensure verification must be made in writing. Either submit (mail, email, or fax) the appropriate state form or include complete licensee and remittance information.
- If you have questions regarding teletherapy, please refer to ABESPA Rules. Please know that ABESPA has no authority over billing issues, which are strictly between Provider and Payer.
- Direct supervision of SLPA’s may be accomplished via telepractice in accordance with ABESPA Rules.
1. Am I eligible for a grace period to begin my employment?
Section 2.5 states “Persons entering the practice of speech-language pathology and/or audiology are required to submit the application for licensure within the first 30 days of beginning practice.
2. Is there a specific license for audiologists to dispense hearing aids?
No. An Arkansas audiology license allows you to dispense hearing aids according to the rules and regulations in Section 10.
3. How do I make a change in my name, address, employment, or other information?
Complete forms from our website and submit to firstname.lastname@example.org
4. How do I change my SP Provisional license to a Speech Pathology license?
You may request ASHA directly send proof that you have received your Certificate of Clinical Competence, or you may forward confirmation to email@example.com.
5. What is “inactive status”?
According to Section 4.4 “A one-time fee of forty dollars shall be charged a speech-language pathologist or audiologist, otherwise qualified and licensed by the Board, to place his/her/their license on inactive status. If inactive status is requested more than 30 days after expiration, late fees apply as set out in Section 4.3. Request for inactive status must be made to the Board in writing. The individual shall not engage in the practice of speech-language pathology and/or audiology in a non-exempt facility in Arkansas while his/her/their license is inactive.”
6. When do I submit my Continuing Professional Education (CPE) hours if I take “inactive status”?
Section 4.5 states, “An individual wishing to regain active status shall notify the Board in writing, submit documentation of CPE’s for each year the license was inactive (maximum of 50 hours for a single license or 75 for dual licensure), and submit the balance of forty dollars of the renewal fee.
7. What happens if I’m late renewing my license?
Renewals are due by June 30th each year. The following penalties are added to the renewal fee according to the tardiness of the renewal:
- $100 between July 16-Dec. 31.
- $200 between Jan. 1-July 15
- $300 after one year of delinquency (maximum of $500.00)
The function of the Board is to examine the credentials and qualifications of Speech-Language Pathologists, Speech-Language Pathology Assistants, and Audiologists who wish to provide services to the people of Arkansas, and to issue licenses or registration to those individuals who meet the standards set forth in §17-100-101 et seq. The Board acts on behalf of consumers by handling complaints to ensure that quality speech-language pathology and audiology services are delivered to the public.
|Arkansas Board of Examiners in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
|4815 W. Markham, Slot 72
Little Rock, AR 72205-3867
The Board is comprised of seven members. These include professionals in speech-language pathology and audiology (at least 2 from each field), a consumer representative, and a senior citizen representative. The members are appointed by the Governor for three-year terms and may serve two full consecutive terms. Board members may be reimbursed for expenses, but otherwise receive no compensation.
Board Members (click to view or download)
Available Position Available: Consumer Representative, Senior Representative
Board Meetings: All meetings are at 9am via Teams
- January 12, 2024
- March 8, 2024
- May 10, 2024
- July 12, 2024
- September 13, 2024