

## **Arkansas Department of Health**

#### Social Work Licensing Board

5800 West 10<sup>th</sup>, Suite 100, Little Rock, AR 72204 \* (501) 372-5071 \* Fax (501) 372-6301 swlb@arkansas.gov \* www.arkansas.gov/swlb

Governor Sarah Huckabee Sanders Renee Mallory, RN, BSN, Secretary of Health Kristen Allen, Director

#### **RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS**

- Complete the renewal application and summary sheet. <u>The renewal request will be returned if the application and summary sheet are not completed in full and signed</u>. Renewals should not be submitted more than two-months prior to the expiration date.
- 2. Attach an \$4 Money Order or check (non-refundable) made payable to the Social Work Licensing Board.
- 3. Complete the summary sheet in full. A minimum of 30 hours of social work continuing education completed during the two-year licensure period must be listed. Your renewal period is the two (2) years prior to your expiration date. {Example: If your expiration date is July 31, 2023, then your renewal period is August 1, 2021, through July 31, 2023) Of the 30 hours, no more than 15 hours will be approved for independent or taped internet courses. Live and interactive webinars may be considered as non-independent study. Please list the three (3) hours in professional ethics first on the summary sheet. Since the summary sheet is the only documentation the board will see, it is important that you print legibly or type the information. Please do not abbreviate. Providing clear and complete information will prevent us from having to contact you for additional information. Do not send your continuing education certificates of attendance with the renewal application. You will need it later if you are selected for audit.
- 4. Mail the renewal application, \$4 renewal fee and summary sheet to the Board **postmarked no later than your expiration date.** Your social work license will expire, and you will no longer be eligible to practice social work if the renewal application and other required materials are not postmarked by your expiration date. An expired license may be renewed within three months of the expiration date by submitting a signed attestation stating you have not practiced social work, the \$4 renewal fee, and the \$80 late penalty, (\$84 total).

<u>Please note</u>: This three month period is <u>not</u> additional time for completing the continuing education requirement and <u>does not allow for practice after the expiration date</u>. Continuing education completed outside the two-year licensure period will not be approved. <u>A license that has expired longer than three</u> months is non-renewable.

You may renew your license online or download additional forms at <a href="www.arkansas.gov/swlb">www.arkansas.gov/swlb</a>.

If you do not wish to renew your license, please notify the Board in writing.



## **Arkansas Department of Health**

#### Social Work Licensing Board

5800 West 10<sup>th</sup>, Suite 100, Little Rock, AR 72204 \* (501) 372-5071 \* Fax (501) 372-6301 swlb@arkansas.gov \* www.arkansas.gov/swlb

> Governor Sarah Huckabee Sanders Renee Mallory, RN, BSN, Secretary of Health Kristen Allen Director

#### **LICENSE RENEWAL APPLICATION**

Name as	it appears on license	:	License No		
Current A	Address:		Home Phone:		
			Cell Phone:		
Email:		Work Email:			
Place of E	Employment:	Work	Phone:		
Place of Birth (city & state)Requi		Gender Required by Arkansas Act 1489	Race Ethnicity		
explanati a.	ion.	questions. If you answer yes to any of the r have you ever been under any invest No			
<b>b.</b> 1		ed a professional license in Arkansas or a	ny other state or jurisdiction?		
<b>c.</b> 1	Have you been refus	ed renewal of a professional license?	Yes No		
<b>d.</b> 1	Have you had a prof	essional license suspended or revoked?	Yes No		
<b>e.</b>	Have you voluntarily	surrendered a professional license? Ye	es No		
	Have you had any di 'es No	sciplinary action taken against your socia 	al work license in any state?		
_	Please indicate if you eteranYes _	u or your spouse are a uniformed service No	member or uniformed service		
fe (: (: b	ollowing: 1) Any offenses spe 2) Any felony. 3) Any criminal offe oreach of client trust,	pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, or cifically enumerated in A.C.A. § 17-3-102 ense, misdemeanor or felony, involving vip, or abuse of the vulnerableYES_cound at www.arkansas.gov/swlb, under l	iolence, dishonesty, fraud, deceit, NO (a copy of A.C.A. §		
knowledg	ge and belief, and I	n that I have provided on this form is understand that any false or misleading at revocation or suspension of my social v	information is grounds for denial of		
Revised 5	: 202E	SIGNATURE	DATE		

# SUMMARY SHEET FOR REPORTING SWCE Expiration Date:

Date	Title of Work	shop	Independent Study Yes or No	Presenter or Sponsor	Hou
	Ethics:				
otal Hou	rs If additional space	e is needed this form may	he dunlicated		
understan ubmit Cert or denial c	d that in signing this document that I am at ification of my Attendance at all the worksh flicense renewal or subsequent revocatio My renewal fee is enclosed. (Money Order	testing that the information is co lops listed. I further understand n or suspension of my social wo or Check)	orrect and true, and if an that any false or mislead ork license. I also ackno	ding information is gro wledge that fees are	unds
		Signature of Licensee	=======================================	ate 	====
		Receipt No.	Fee \$4 (\$84	late fee)	
		Neccipt No			
	RD USE ONLY: Date Rec'd I Denied Renewal App				

Board Member's Signature

Date



### **Arkansas Department of Health**

#### Social Work Licensing Board

5800 West 10<sup>th</sup>, Suite 100, Little Rock, AR 72204 \* (501) 372-5071 \* Fax (501) 372-6301 swlb@arkansas.gov \* www.arkansas.gov/swlb

> Governor Sarah Huckabee Sanders Renee Mallory, RN, BSN, Secretary of Health Kristen Allen, Director

# ATTESTATION FOR RENEWAL OF SOCIAL WORK LICENSE <u>AFTER</u> EXPIRATION DATE Effective July 22, 2015, Act 1170 of 2015

The Social Work Licensing Act has been amended. The section regarding the expiration and renewal of social work licenses, codified at Arkansas Code § 17-103-304, will read as follows effective July 22, 2015:

- (c) (3) Before the expiration date of the license, the licensee shall:
  - (A) Submit a renewal application and fee online; or
  - (B) Mail the renewal application and fee to the office of the board.
- (d) (1) If a licensee fails to renew his or her license before the expiration date, the license shall lapse the last day of the month of the calendar year that is exactly two (2) years from the calendar year and month in which the license was issued.
  - (2) A license that has lapsed for a period of less than three (3) months may be renewed by submission of:
    - (A) A completed renewal application.
    - (B) A fee that is two (2) times the amount of the renewal fee specified; and
    - (C) An attestation that the licensee has not practiced social work since the day that his or her license lapsed and the licensee will not practice social work until his or her license is approved for renewal by the board.
  - (3) If a license has lapsed for three (3) months or longer, the applicant for the license shall be considered a new applicant subject to appropriate provision of this chapter.
  - (4) A license that has expired over three (3) months is not renewable.
- (e) At the time of license renewal, an applicant shall present satisfactory evidence that in the period since the license was issued, he or she has completed the continuing education requirement as required by the board.

<u>Please note</u>: This three-months is <u>not</u> additional time for completing the continuing education requirement and <u>does not allow for practice after the expiration date</u>. Continuing education completed outside the two-year licensure period will not be approved.

If you do not mail (postmark must be no later than expiration date) or renew your social work license online by the expiration date of your license, then your license is considered lapsed as of the expiration date and you are not eligible to practice social work, work in a social work position or call yourself a social worker until the Social Work Licensing Board (the "Board") has received and approved your application for renewal.

I, the below named licensee, attest and affirm that I have not practiced social work since the day that my license lapsed. I will not practice social work until my license is approved for renewal by the Board.

Printed Name:	License Number:	
Expiration Date of License:	Date Submitted: _	
Signature:		
This form only needs to be signed if	05/2025	