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1.

ARTICLE H. APPHCAHONFOR
EXAMINAHONAPPLICATION FOR

LICENSURE, RECIPROCITY, AND
RENEWAL

Application for Licensure

(A)  Official application forms are available on the Board’s website.
No application for examination-licensure will be considered unless fully

and completely filled out on this form-and-properly-attested.

2-(B) An applicant must have official documentation sent to the Secretary
of the Board from the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners that a
passing score was achieved by the applicant on the American Podiatric
Medical Licensing Examination (APMLE) Part | and Part Il, or successor
exam, of the National Board Examination.

3-(C) An applicant may take the state licensing examination or submit
official documentation from the National Board of Podiatric Medical
Examiners of a passing score on the Part Il Examination_(or successor

exam).

4.(D) No applicant will be admitted to the state examination except on
presentation of a valid driver’s license or other form of government-issued
photo identification.

5.(E) Applications should be sent to the address provided on the Board’s
website.

6.(F) TFhefeeforexaminationas-setbytheBeard-An application fee of

$200 shall accompany the application. The fee shall be sent in form of
cashier’s check, personal check or money order.

#(G) The applicant will furnish with the application transcripts under
seal of the college or colleges of podiatric medicine attended.



9.(H) If an applicant wishes to take the state examination, Al-an

applications must-shall be completed and submitted-tefiled with the Board’s
secretary-treasurer at least sixty-{66)-days two months prior to the state
Board examination, unless otherwise provided by law.

106(1)- The application is subject to Arkansas law at the time of
consideration of the application by the Arkansas Board of Podiatric
Medicine.

11.(J) The state examination shall be conducted in English.

12.(K) All state examinations shall be conducted in the presence of at
least one member of the Board.

13-(L) If an applicant fails to pass the state examination, the applicant may
appear before the Board for not more than two examinations, al-both of
which must be taken within a period of six months from the date ef-the-first
examination-of the-applicant: the applicant’s license application is denied

for failure to pass the exam.

Reinstatement

have

An applicant who can demonstrate that he meets the following criteria may
his license reinstated upon payment of the application fee:

(A)  Was previously licensed as a podiatrist at any time in this state;
(B)  Held his or her license in good standing at the time of licensing;
(C) Did not have his or her license revoked for:
(i) An act of bad faith; or
(i) A violation of law, rule, or ethics;
(D) Is not holding a suspended or probationary license in any state; and
(E)  FEurnish evidence of completion of the number of hours of

acceptable continuing medical education computed by multiplying twenty
(20) times the number of years the licensee has held an inactive or invalid

license, not to exceed 100 hours. Has-beenpracticing-as-apodiatristin
ansthorstoto-nndneldsa—liconsothoro-thatisin-gosdstanding.

Reciprocity
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(A) Required Qualifications. An applicant applying for reciprocal

licensure shall meet the following requirements:

(i)

The applicant shall hold in good standing a substantially

(ii)

similar license in another U.S. jurisdiction.

(a) A podiatric medical license from another state is
substantially similar to an Arkansas podiatric medical
license if an applicant has, or the other state’s
licensure qualifications require an applicant to have:
(1) Graduated from a legally incorporated,
reqularly established school of podiatric
medicine recognized by the Council on
Podiatric Medical Education of the American
Podiatric Medical Association; and

(2) Completed the residency described in Ark.
Code Ann. 17-96-303(d)(2).

(b) The applicant shall not have had a license revoked

for:
(1) An act of bad faith; or
(2) A violation of law, rule, or ethics;
(c) The applicant shall not hold a suspended or

probationary license in a U.S. jurisdiction; and

The applicant shall be sufficiently competent in the field of

podiatric medicine.

(B) Required documentation. An applicant shall submit a fully-executed

application, the required fee, and the documentation described below.

(i)

As evidence that the applicant’s podiatric medical license

from another jurisdiction is in good standing and is

substantially similar to an Arkansas podiatric medical

license, the applicant shall submit the following information:

(a) Evidence of current licensure in good standing in that
state. The Board may verify this information online or
by telephone; and

(b) A certificate of graduation from a legally incorporated,

reqularly established school of podiatric medicine
recognized by the Council on Podiatric Medical
Education of the American Podiatric Medical
Association; and
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(i)

(c)

A certificate issued by an accredited podiatric

residency program approved by the Council on
Podiatric Medical Education of the American Podiatric
Medical Association as proof of the satisfactory
completion of the residency described in Ark. Code
Ann. 17-96-303(d)(2); and

To demonstrate that the applicant has not had a license

(iii)

revoked for bad faith or a violation of law, rule, or ethics, as

required by Article 1., section 3.(A)(i)(b), and that the

applicant does not hold a license on suspended or

probationary status, as required by Article 1., section

3.(A)(i)(c), the applicant shall provide the Board with:

(a) The names of all states in which the applicant is
currently licensed or has been previously licensed:;
and

(b) Letters of good standing or other information from

each state in which the applicant is currently or has
ever been licensed showing that the applicant’s
license has not been revoked for the reasons listed in
Article 1., section 3.(A)(i)(b), and is not on suspended
or probationary status as described in Atrticle |I.,
section 3.(A)(1)(c). The Board may verify information
online or by telephone.

As evidence that the applicant is sufficiently competent in

podiatric medicine, an applicant shall:

(a)

Submit official documentation from the National Board

(b)

of Podiatric Medical Examiners of a passing score on
the American Podiatric Medical Licensing Examination
(APMLE) Part | and Part Il (or successor exams); and
either

Pass the Arkansas state licensing examination; or

(c)

Submit official documentation of a passing score on

the PMLexis/ Part Ill Examination (or successor

exam).

ARTICLE
1l

EMERGENCYPROVSIONALPROVISIONAL

LICENSE
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1. The Board shall issue a provisional license immediately upon receipt of the

required fee and the documentation required under Article 1., section 3.(B)(i)
to show that the applicant has a license from another jurisdiction that is in
good standing and is substantially similar to an Arkansas podiatric physician
license.

2. An applicant shall submit a completed application with all required

remaining documentation in order to receive a license.

3. The provisional license shall be effective for 90 days or, if the complete

application and remaining documentation are submitted, until the Board
makes a decision on the application.

ARTICLE IIL.M¥ GROUNDBSHFOR
REVOCAHONOR
SUSPENSION-OF

HCEENSECOMPLAINTS AND

DISCIPLINARY ACTION

1. Inaccordance with Ark. Code Ann. 88 17-96-308 and 25-15-217, the
Board may revoke, suspend, refuse to renew, or otherwise penalize the license
of a podiatric physician after notice and hearing for any one or more of the
following causes:

6



2.

Is convicted of a crime listed under Ark. Code

(A)
Ann. § 17-2-102;

(B)  Failure to display in the primary office the current certificates of
registration;

(C) Unprofessional and dishonest conduct, including but not limited to:

(i) Aiding and abetting an unlicensed person to practice
Podiatric Medicine;

(i) Violation of Ark. Code Ann. 88 17-96-101, et seq; and

(i) Violation of any statute, rule, or order of the Arkansas
Board of Podiatric Medicine;

(D) Habitual, intemperate, or excessive use of narcotics or any other
habit-forming drugs;

(E)bl!ncompetent to practice medicine to such an extent as to endanger the
public;

(F) Insanity or mental disease if evidenced by adjudication or by an
involuntary commitment to an institution for treatment of a mental disease
or as determined by an examination conducted by three impartial
psychiatrists;

(G) Submitting false, deceptive or unfounded claims, reports or opinions
to any patient or payor;

(H) Gross, willful and continued overcharging for professional services;

() Failure to report to the Board any disciplinary action, suspension or loss
of privileges by a hospital, outpatient treatment or surgical facility within 30
days of such action; and

(J) Failure to check the check the information in the Prescription Drug
Monitoring Program when prescribing controlled substances, as required by
the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program Act, Ark. Code Ann. 88 20-7-601
et seq.

Any person may file a complaint with the Board against any licensed

podiatric physician or unlicensed person that charges said person with having

violated the Board’s statutes or rules.

Complaints must be submitted to the Board in written form.
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4. The Board may designate an individual to conduct investigations of written

complaints.

5. Nothing in these rules shall prohibit informal disposition of complaints or
allegations by agreement of parties

6. All hearings shall be conducted in accordance with the Administrative
Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. 88 25-15-201 et seq.

ARTICLE
V.
OFFICERS OF THE ARKANSAS BOARD OF
PODIATRIC MEDICINE AND THEIR DUTIES

1.  The officers of the Arkansas Board of Podiatric Medicine shall consist of a
President and a Secretary-Treasurer. They shall be elected annually by the
members of the Board and shall serve a term of one year, or until their
successors are elected and qualified.

2. President. The president shall be the chief executive officer of the Board
and shall preside at all of its meetings. The president shall approve-and-keep-in
custody-the-bond-of- the-seeretary-sign all licenses; and perform such other
duties as may pertain to the office. The president shall approve all requests for
the expenditure of funds of the Board, and shall have power to vote on all
guestions coming before the Board.

3.  Secretary-Treasurer. The following described duties of the Secretary-
Treasurer may be delegated to Board staff. The Secretary-Treasurer shall be
in charge of the books, records, property, and money of the Arkansas Board of
Podiatric Medicine. The Secretary-Treasurer shall conduct the Board’s
correspondence, keep a complete and accurate record of the business
transactions at all meetings and of all fees received and expenses paid under
these rules and-regulations-and shall report the same to the Arkansas Board of
Podiatric Medicine annually. The Secretary-Treasurer shall also have the
following duties and responsibilities:

(A) The Secretary-Treasurer shall keep a complete record listing the
names and addresses of all persons to whom licenses have been
granted with the number, and the date of issuance of each license.

(B) The Secretary-Treasurer shall collect all fees and renewals, and
deposit to the account of the Arkansas Board of Podiatric Medicine all
money received not later than the first day of the calendar month following
receipt of the money.
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(C) The Secretary-Treasurer shall keep a full and complete record of
all forfeited, revoked and expired licenses, and shall countersign all
newly issued licenses.

(D) The Secretary-Treasurer shall receive and submit to the Board for
approval all applications for licensure and shall further be required to keep
a full and complete record thereof.

(E) The Secretary-Treasurer shall notify the members of the Board of
the dates and places of all regular and special meetings of said Board,
and shall notify applicants for licensure of the date and place of
examination.

(F) Before taking possession of office, the Secretary-Treasurer shall file
with the president of the Board such surety bond as may be required by
the Board, the expense of which shall be paid by the Board. At the
expiration of the term of office the Secretary-Treasurer shall deliver to the
successor all books, records, property, and money of the Board.

(G) The Secretary-Treasurer shall receive and submit to the Board for
approval all applications for license and any complaints regarding
podiatric physicians that appear to be violations of these Rrules-and

— el one

(H) The Secretary-Treasurer shall not issue any duplicate license
number or reassign any number that may become vacant.

4.  Other members of the Board may countersign, license, preside over
meetings when necessary, and aid in conducting examinations of applicants.

ARTICLE
V.4
MEETINGS OF THE ARKANSAS
BOARD OF PODIATRIC MEDICINE

1. The Board shall hold an annual business meeting. Special meetings of the
Board may be called by the President, or in the absence or inability of the
President to act, by the members of said Board, for the proper and efficient
discharge of their duties as required by law.

2.  Atall meetings of the Board, three members shall be necessary for the
transaction of business, and all motions must have two favorable votes in order
for them to carry. At examinations only one member need be present to
supervise the examination and render such service as may be needed.
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1.

ARTICLE
VI
PODIATRIC PHYSICIAN DELEGATION
REGULATION

Act 472 of the 87th General Assembly of the State of Arkansas, as of the

year 2009, authorized Podiatric Physicians to delegate the performance of certain
medical practices or tasks to qualified and properly trained employees (commonly
referred to as medical assistants), who are not licensed or otherwise specifically
authorized by Arkansas law to perform the practice or task. This Regulation-rule
will set forth standards to be met and the procedures to be followed by the
Podiatric Physician when delegating to employees.

2.

Definitions for Purposes of this Article VI.+:

(A) "Podiatrist" means an individual licensed by the Arkansas Board of
Podiatric Medicine as a Podiatric Physician.

(B) "Medical Practice” means those tasks or functions that are
delegated to a qualified and properly trained employee, including the
administration of drugs, pursuant to Act 472 of 2009 and this rule.

© "Delegate” means to authorize a qualified and properly trained
employee to perform a medical practice that does not conflict with a
provision of the Arkansas Code that specifically authorizes an individual to
perform a particular practice.

(D) "Supervision" means the act by a Podiatric Physician in directing
and overseeing an employee who performs a delegated medical practice.

(E) "Medical Assistant” means an employee of a Podiatric Physician
who has been delegated medical practices or tasks, and who has not been
licensed by or specifically authorized to perform the practice or task
pursuant to other provisions of Arkansas law.

General Provisions

(A)  The delegating Podiatric Physician remains responsible for
the acts of the employee performing the delegated medical practice;

(B) The employee performing the delegated medical practice shall
not be represented to the public as a licensed Podiatric Physician}
licensed nurse, licensed physician's assistant, or other licensed
healthcare provider; and

10
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4.

(C)  Medical practices delegated pursuant to this statute and
regulation-rule shall be performed under the Podiatric Physician's
supervision.

Procedures for Delegating a Medical Practice

Prior to delegating a medical practice or task, the Podiatric Physician shall
determine the following:

(A)  That the medical practice or task is within that Podiatric
Physician's authority to perform;

(B) That the medical practice or task is indicated for the patient;

© The appropriate level of supervision for the Podiatric Physician to
exercise while the medical practice or task is being performed;

(D) That the person to whom the medical practice or task is being
delegated is qualified and properly trained to perform the medical practice
or task; and

(E) That the medical practice is one that can be appropriately
delegated when considering the following factors:

i. That the medical practice can be performed without
requiring the exercise of judgment based on medical
knowledge;

ii. That the results of the medical practice are
reasonably predictable;

iii. That the medical practice can be safely performed
according to exact, unchanging directions;

iv. That the medical practice can be performed without the
need for complex observations or critical decisions; and

v. That the medical practice can be performed without repeated
medical assessments.

Additional Requirements for Delegating the Administration of Drugs

(A) A Podiatric Physician may only delegate the administration of
drugs that do not require substantial, specialized judgment and skill based
on knowledge and application of the principles of biological, physical, and
social sciences.

(B)  Administration of drugs, delegated pursuant to this Regulatienrule,

shall only be permissible within the physical boundaries of the delegating
Podiatric Physician's offices.

11
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(C) The Podiatric Physician shall evaluate the acuity of the patient and

make a determination that delegation is appropriate.

(D) The Podiatric Physician shall determine the competency of the
person to whom the administration of drugs is being delegated through
training and experience, including the physician's personal observation.

6. Prohibitions

(A) A Podiatric Physician shall not transfer his or her responsibility for
supervising an unlicensed person in the performance of a delegated
medical practice, except to another Podiatric Physician who has knowingly
accepted that responsibility;

(B) A Podiatric Physician shall not authorize or permit an unlicensed
person to whom a medical practice is delegated to delegate the
performance of that practice to another person;

(C) A Podiatric Physician shall not delegate to an unlicensed
person the administration of anesthesia;

(D) A Podiatric Physician shall not delegate a medical practice that is
not within the authority of that physician or is beyond the Podiatric
Physician's training, expertise, or normal course of practice; and

(E) A Podiatric Physician shall not delegate a medical practice to an
unlicensed person if the practice is beyond that person's competence.

ARTICLE VIl i
Licensure for Active Duty Service Members,
Returning Military Veterans, and Spouses

1. As used in this rule, “returning military veteran” means a former member of
the United States Armed Forces who was discharged from active duty under
circumstances other than dishonorable.

2. The Board shall grant automatic licensure to an individual who holds a
substantially equivalent license in another U.S. jurisdiction and is:
(A) An active duty military service member stationed in the State of
Arkansas;
(B) A returning military veteran applying for licensure within one (1) year of
his or discharge from active duty; or
(C) The spouse of a person under Article VII., section 2.(A) or (B).

3. The Board shall grant such automatic licensure upon receipt of all of the below:
(A) Payment of the initial licensure fee;

12
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(B) Evidence that the individual holds a substantially equivalent license in

another state; and
(C) Evidence that the applicant is a qualified applicant under Article VII.,
section 2.(A), (B), or (C).

ARTICLE VIII.>%

13
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CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION

1. As part of the application for annual license renewal, licensees must submit
to the Board proof that they completed twenty hours of approved continuing
medical education within the year prior to the license renewal date.

2. Fo-satisty-the requirements-of paragraph-1-of this Rule;-aA continuing
medical education hour shall be considered “approved” if:

(A)  The hour has been approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical
Education of the American Podiatric Medical Association;

(B)  The hour was obtained when attending official meetings presented by
any State Podiatric Medical Association;

(C)  The hour was obtained from meetings approved by the Council on
Medical Education of the American Medical Association or approved

by the Council on Osteopathic Medical Education of the American
Osteopathic Association as long as the hours pertain to the practice

of Podiatric Medicine and

(D)  The hour was obtained from hospital lectures, as long as the hour
pertains to the practice of Podiatric Medicine.

3. The Board will accept any “approved” hours, as that term is defined in
Article VIII., sectionparagraph 2 above, regardless of whether those hours are from
meetings, the internet, or periodicals.

4. In addition to the methods of approval for continuing medical education
hours provided in paragraphArticle VIII., section 2 of this Rule, the Board may
consider prior approval of meetings. Such prior approval shall be obtained from
the Secretary of the Board or, if the Secretary is unavailable to consider hours for
approval, a designee of the Board appointed by the President of the Board.

ARTICLE IX. PRESCRIBING AND DISPENSING
SCHEDULE Il NARCOTICS

1. Unless otherwise stated in this Article 1X., terms used shall be defined in
accordance with the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program Act, A.C.A. 88 20-7-

601 et seq.

2. Dispensing Schedule Il Narcotics.

A podiatric physician shall not dispense Schedule Il narcotics.

3. Prescribing Schedule Il Narcotics.
14
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(A) The prescribing of excessive amounts of controlled substances to a

patient including the writing of an excessive number of prescriptions for an

addicting or potentially harmful drug to a patient. “Excessive” is defined as

the writing of any prescription in any amount without a detailed medical

justification for the prescription documented in the patient record.

(i) Chronic Pain: If there is documented medical justification,

“excessive” is defined, pursuant to the Centers for Disease Control

(CDC) quideline for prescribing opioids for chronic pain, as

prescribing opioids at a level that exceeds =50 Morphine Milligram

Equivalents (MME)per day, unless the physician/physician assistant

documents each of the following:

(a) Objective findings, which include, but are not limited to,
imaging studies, lab testing and results, nerve conduction
testing, biopsy, and any other test that would establish pain
generating pathology.

(b) Specific reasons for the need to prescribe = 50 MED per
day.

(c) Documented alternative treatment plans as well as
alternative therapies trialed and failed prior to considering
chronic opioid therapy.

(d) Documented risk factor assessment detailing that the
patient was informed of the risk and the addictive nature of the
prescribed drug.

(e) Documented assessment of the potential for abuse and/or
diversion of the prescribed drug.

(f) That the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program had been
checked prior to issuing the prescription.

(g) A detailed clinical rationale for the prescribing and the
patient must be seen in an in-person examination every three
(3) months or every 90 days.

(h) The definition of “excessive” as contained in this rule shall
not apply to prescriptions written for a patient in hospice care,
in active cancer treatment, palliative care, end-of-life care,
nursing home, assisted living or a patient while in an inpatient
setting or in an emergency situation.

() Regular urine drug screens should be performed on
patients to insure the patient is taking prescribed medications
and is not participating or suspected in participating in
diversion or abuse of non-prescribed medications. The

15
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treatment of chronic pain shall be consistent with the CDC

quidelines as they relate to baseline drug testing, and at least
annual follow up testing as warranted for treatment.

() A pain treatment agreement must be signed and reviewed
by the patient when initiating chronic opioid therapy. This
agreement should discuss the following: informed risk and
addictive nature of prescribed medications, outline the specific
expectations between patient and physician, informed consent
for periodic urine drug screenings and random pill counts with
urine screening as well as the provisions for termination of
opioid therapy.

B. Acute Pain: For treatment of acute pain, “excessive” is further defined as
an initial prescription written for more than seven (7) days, without detailed,
documented medical justification in the medical record. If the patient
requires further prescriptions, they must be evaluated in reqular increments
with documented medical justification for continued treatment in medical
record.

C. When opioids are started, clinicians should prescribe the lowest effective
dosage. Clinicians should use caution when prescribing opioids at any
dosage, should carefully reassess evidence of individual benefits and risks
when considering increasing dosage to > 50 morphine milligram equivalents
(MME)/day, and should avoid increasing dosage to > 90 MME/day or
carefully justify a decision to tritrate dosage to > 90 MME/day.

ARTICLE X. PRESCRIPTION DRUG
MONITORING PROGRAM

1. A Podiatric Physician shall check the information in the Prescription Drug
Monitoring Program when prescribing:

(A)  An opioid from Schedule Il or Schedule Il for every time prescribing
the medication to a patient; and

(B) A benzodiazepine medication for the first time prescribing the
medication to a patient.

2. This Article X. does not apply to the following:

(A) A licensee administering a controlled substance:

() Immediately before or during surgery:
(i) During recovery from a surgery while in a healthcare facility:
(i) In a healthcare facility; or

(iv) Necessary to treat a patient in an emergency situation at the
scene of an emergency, in a licensed ground ambulance or air
ambulance, or in the intensive care unit of a licensed hospital;
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(B) A healthcare provider prescribing or administering a controlled
substance to:
()] A palliative care or hospice patient; or
(i) A resident in a licensed nursing home facility; or
(iii) Situations in which the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program
is not accessible due to technological or electrical failure.
3. A licensee must document in the patient record that the Prescription Drug

Monitoring Program was checked.

ARTICLE XI. FEES

The Board shall impose the following fees:

Initial License Fee - $200

Annual Renewal Fee - $75

ARTICLE XII. CRIMINAL HISTORY

1. Pre-Licensure Criminal Background Check

(A)

Pursuant to Act 990 of 2019, an individual may petition for a pre-

licensure determination of whether the individual’s criminal record will
disqualify the individual from licensure and whether a waiver may be
obtained.

(B) _ The individual must obtain the pre-licensure criminal background
check petition form from the Board.

(C)  The Board or the Board’s designee will respond with a decision in
writing to a completed petition within a reasonable time.

(D) The Board’s response will state the reasons for the decision.

(E) ___ All decisions of the Board in response to the petition will be
determined by the information provided by the individual.

(F) ___Any decision made by the Board in response to a pre-licensure
criminal background check petition is not subject to appeal.

(G)  The Board will retain a copy of the petition and response and it will be
reviewed during the formal application process.

2. Waiver Request
(A) If an individual has been convicted of an offense listed in A.C.A. 8§ 17-

2-102(a), except those permanently disqualifying offenses found in
subsection (e), the Board may waive disqualification of a potential
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(B)

applicant or revocation of a license based on the conviction if a
request for a waiver is made by:

I. An affected applicant for a license; or

il. An individual holding a license subject to revocation.

The Board may grant a waiver upon consideration of the following,

(9

without limitation:

I. The age at which the offense was committed;

il. The circumstances surrounding the offense;

iii. The length of time since the offense was committed;

V. Subsequent work history since the offense was committed;
V. Employment references since the offense was committed;
Vi. Character references since the offense was committed;

Vi, Relevance of the offense to the occupational license; and
viii. _ Other evidence demonstrating that licensure of the applicant

does not pose a threat to the health or safety of the public.
A request for a waiver, if made by an applicant, must be in writing

(D)

and accompany the completed application and fees.
The Board will respond with a decision in writing and will state the

(E)

reasons for the decision.
An appeal of a determination under this section will be subject to the

Administrative Procedures Act 8 25-15-201 et seq.
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