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Overview
•	 All infants should complete hearing screening by 1 month of age, diagnostic testing by 3 months of age, 

and intervention by 6 months of age (1-3-6 guidelines).
•	 Otolaryngologists should assess hearing status, including ascertaining the results of infant hearing 

screening and diagnostic tests.
•	 Otolaryngologists should complete an appropriate diagnostic testing algorithm in patients by 3 months of age.
•	 Otolaryngologists should recommend referral to pediatric audiologists, speech/language pathologists, 

geneticists, and other specialists as indicated.
•	 Otolaryngologists should ensure all hearing results are reported via the Electronic Registry of Arkansas 

Vital Events (ERAVE). 
•	 Otolaryngologists should continue to monitor hearing, external and middle ear status, and speech and 

language development in children with hearing loss.
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Early Hearing Detection & Intervention (EHDI)

Who is EHDI?

Each year, an estimated 1 to 3 per 1,000 infants are born with moderate, severe, or profound hearing loss 
resulting in potentially delayed development in language, learning, and speech. Even more will lose their 
hearing during infancy or childhood (American Speech-Language-Hearing Association 2020). Children who are 
deaf or hard of hearing face a neuro-developmental emergency and need to be identified as quickly as possible 
so appropriate intervention services can begin. 

The mission of Arkansas’ EHDI program, Arkansas Department of Health’s Infant Hearing Program is to ensure 
all newborns meet the Joint Committee on Infant Hearing (JCIH) EHDI goals: 

•	 Ensure early identification of all deaf and hard-of-hearing children and access to timely intervention 
enrollment.

•	 Enhance providers’ knowledge about EHDI 1-3-6 guidelines – screening by 1 month of age, diagnosis of 
hearing loss by 3 months of age, and enrollment in early intervention by 6 months of age if diagnosed with 
hearing loss.

•	 Incorporate EHDI into an integrated, medical-home approach to child health.
•	 Ensure newborn hearing screening results are clearly communicated to parents and reported to EHDI in 

accordance with state laws and rules.

For tracking and surveillance, the EHDI Program needs hospitals, primary care physicians, pediatricians, 
audiologists, and interventionists to provide accurate and complete information regarding hearing screening, 
testing, and intervention next steps on a consistent basis. This also allows the EHDI Program to connect 
families to appropriate resources and services. 
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Arkansas Law: Act 1559 of 1999
Arkansas Law – Act 1559 of 1999

An Act to ensure early detection of hearing loss for all newborns/infants in Arkansas and to establish the 
universal newborn/infant hearing screening, tracking, and intervention program and advisory board.

•	 All birthing hospitals must provide bilateral hearing screening on each birth admission;
•	 All birthing hospitals, physicians, or other providers administering initial screening or follow-up care must 

report results to the Arkansas Department of Health’s (ADH) Infant Hearing Program (IHP); and
•	 All birthing hospitals, physicians, or other providers administering initial screening or follow-up care shall 

inform parents where to obtain medical and audiological follow-up screening/care.

All test results are reported via the Electronic Registry of Arkansas Vital Events (ERAVE), a web-based 
database that collects and reports hearing, birth, and death records.

RAVE
Electronic Registration
of Arkansas Vital Events

E
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When Should Infants Be Screened?
1-3-6 EHDI Plan

Infant hearing loss has been defined as a neurodevelopmental emergency. Children with hearing loss are at 
risk not only for lifelong deficits in speech and language acquisition, but poor academic performance, personal-
social maladjustments and emotional difficulties. Timing is critical to optimize outcomes. Babies with hearing 
loss identified in the first weeks of life, and who begin hearing optimally no later than six months, have a good 
chance of developing neural connections in their auditory brain pathways necessary to lay the foundation for 
spoken language development.

Newborn Hearing Screening Checklist provided with this toolkit to assist with next steps in the 1-3-6 process, 
https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/pdf/NBHS_Checklist.pdf 
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1-3-6 NEWBORN HEARING SCREENING 
CHECKLIST

Patient Name: _______________________________________ Patient DOB: _____________ Date of Visit: ___________

        INITIAL SCREENING (by no later than 1 month of age)

Has the child had a newborn hearing screening?  Yes No  Schedule initial screening

Did you obtain the test results from the screening hospital 
or state EHDI program? 

Yes No  Contact the hospital or state EHDI program

Are the results recorded in the patient’s chart? Yes No  Record test results in patient chart 

Did the child pass the newborn hearing screening? Yes No  Schedule rescreening appointment

Have the results been reported to the state EHDI program? Yes No  Confirm results have been reported to state EHDI 
program within 48 hours of receiving them 

Have results been discussed with family? Yes No    For a child who passed, stress the importance 
of ongoing surveillance and risk factors* 

  For a child who did not pass, discuss the 
need for follow-up and assist in arranging a 
rescreening

Has a rescreening occurred (if the initial screen resulted in 
“did not pass” or if otherwise necessary)?

Yes No  Schedule rescreening appointment

RESCREENING (by no later than 1 month of age) 

Where will the rescreening be performed?

	If hospital/outpatient center, when is the rescreening 
appointment? 

	If conducted in office:

• Determine what screening equipment was used at the 
hospital.

• Follow the AAP office rescreening guidelines.

 Hospital: ______________________________________________

 Office 

 Other (specify): ________________________________________

Location: ________________________________________________ 
 
Date: ___________________________________________________

Did the child pass the rescreening?  Yes No   Send child to audiologist with pediatric expertise for 
diagnostic evaluation. 

Are the results recorded in the patient chart? Yes No   Record results in patient chart. 

Have the results been discussed with the family? Yes No     For a child who passed, stress the importance of   
                 ongoing surveillance and risk factors* 
			  For a child who did not pass, discuss the need  
                 for follow-up and assist in arranging an  
                 audiologic evaluation

Have the results been reported? Yes No   Confirm results have been reported to state EHDI 
program within 48 hours of receipt

1
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        DIAGNOSTIC EVALUATION (by no later than 3 months of age)

If the child did not pass the rescreening, was he/she 
referred to an audiologist with expertise in pediatrics?

Yes

Provider: ______________________________

Date of Visit: ___________________________

No   Refer to 
audiologist 
with 
expertise in 
pediatrics 

Were the results of the diagnostic test normal? Yes No   Discuss early intervention (EI) and need for  
           comprehensive plan

Have the results been discussed with the family? Yes No     For a child who passed, stress the importance of 
ongoing surveillance and risk factors*

             For a child who did not pass,  discuss EI and 
need for comprehensive plan

Have the results been reported? Yes No   Confirm results have been reported back to state 
EHDI program within 48 hours of receipt

       EARLY INTERVENTION (by no later than 6 months of age)

If the child was diagnosed with a hearing loss, was he/
she referred for early intervention and multidisciplinary 
evaluation? 

Yes

Date of visit: ________________

No   Provide referral for EI, 
ophthalmology, and 
otolaryngology and offer 
referral for genetics

ONGOING SURVEILLANCE AND SCREENING 

Continue to perform ongoing surveillance and screening for late-onset hearing loss, particularly children with risk factors.

*JCIH Risk Factors

3

6

a  p rogram to  enhance  the  hea l th  &  deve lopment  o f  in fan t s  &  ch i ld ren

A program of the American Academy of Pediatrics in cooperation with the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention

Fetal Alcohol Spectrum
Disorders Program 

A program of the American Academy of Pediatrics in cooperation with the 

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention and Maternal & Child Health Bureau/HRSA

a program to enhance the heal th & development of  infants & chi ldren

Early Hearing Detection 
& Intervention Program

A program of the American Academy of Pediatrics in cooperation with the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention

Funding for the development of these materials was provided through a cooperative agreement 
(U43MC09134) between the American Academy of Pediatrics and the US Department 
of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal 
and Child Health Bureau as well as through a cooperative agreement (5U58DD00587) 
between the American Academy of Pediatrics and the National Center on Birth Defects and 
Developmental Disabilities of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Content 
is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of 
the Maternal and Child Health Bureau or the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

April 2014
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Roles and Responsibilities of Otolaryngologists

The Role of the Otolaryngologist in Arkansas’ EHDI Program:

• Provide a seamless progression of hearing healthcare throughout the EHDI process to ensure infants
and their families receive appropriate and timely services from screening through evaluation and early
intervention.

• Serve as key stakeholder assisting the Infant Hearing Program in developing and implementing
comprehensive, community-based protocols to facilitate optimal outcomes for infants and families.

• Provide education to community/hospital personnel identifying the importance of early identification and
intervention of hearing loss in infants.

Responsibilities after the Diagnostic Evaluation:

• Monitor and evaluate infants and toddlers at risk for hearing loss.
• Report results to the child’s Primary Care Provider and the Infant Hearing Program within 7 business days

of the evaluation.
• Remind families/caregivers of any upcoming appointments for additional testing.
• Provide information about unbiased communication options and resource materials to families.
• Provide information about early intervention services to families.
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Guidelines for Risk Monitoring for 
Delayed Onset Hearing Loss

If baby passes the newborn hearing
screening & has one or more CLASS A
risk indicator = 
Recommendation for diagnostic ABR 
evaluation with pediatric audiologists by 
3 months of age.

NOTE: If baby REFERS on the newborn hearing 
screening after two attempts, recommendation
for Diagnostic ABR evaluation to be completed by 
3 months of age (JCIH 2019)
*Any parental/caregiver hearing concerns warrants 
a referral to a pediatric audiologist.
** Infants readmitted to the hospital within the first 
30 days of llfe should be re-screened if any
risk Indicators are present.

References:
Fligor BJ, Neault MW, Mullen CH, Feldman HA, Jones OT. 
Factors associated with sensorineural hearing loss among 
survivors of extracorporeal membrane oxygenation therapy. 
Pediatrics 2005; 115(6):1519-1528.
Joint Committee on Infant Hearing. Year 2007 Position 
Statement: Principles and Guidelines for Early Hearing 
Detection and Intervention Programs.
Pediatrics. 2007; 120(4):898-921. dol: 10.1542/peds.2007-
2333.
Van Riper, Lari A.; Klleny, Paul R. ABR Hearing Screening for 
High-Risk Infants. American Journal of otology. 20(4):516-521, 
July 1999.

Class A: Risk indicators

*ln-utero infections (congenital CMV)
*Culture Positive postnatal infection
 (Bacterial and viral meningitis)
*Syndromes associated with
 progressive or delayed onset hearing
 loss (Neurofibromatosis, Osteopetrosis,    	
 Usher Syndrome,Townes-Brock)
*Syndromes associated with hearing loss  	
 (Down syndrome and Sticklers)
*Cleft Lip/Palate
*ECMO assisted ventilation
*Head Trauma Involving basal skull/
 temporal fracture that requires
 hospitalization
*Chemotherapy treatments
*Neurodegenerative disorders or sensory 	
 motor neuropathies

*Family history of childhood hearing loss
*ln-Utero Infection (Herpes, Rubella, 	   	
 Syphilis, Toxoplasmosis)
*NICU stay of greater than 5 days
*Any amount of ototoxic exposure
 (aminoglycosides)
*Any amount of mechanical ventilation
*Craniofacial anomalies involving pinna,  	
  ear canal, ear pits and temporal bone  	   	
  anomalies

Class B: Risk indicators

If baby passes the newborn hearing 
screening & has one or more CLASS B 
risk indicators =
Recommendation for diagnostic pediatric 
hearing evaluation by 1 year of age.
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Pediatric Audiological Assessment

The following best practice recommendations were developed by the Arkansas Department of Health’s Infant 
Hearing Program in collaboration with the Universal Newborn Hearing Screening, Tracking, and Intervention 
Advisory Board.  The recommendations take into consideration information from national organizations, such 
as, the National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management (NCHAM), the Joint Committee of Infant 
Hearing (JCIH), the American Academy of Audiology (AAA) and the American Speech-Language-Hearing 
Association (ASHA). 

This document serves to facilitate the diagnosis of hearing loss in infants. The Arkansas Department of 
Health recognizes individual cases may present unique challenges influencing the approach to evaluation 
and management. Therefore, these recommendations should be regarded as a guideline for practice, not as 
standards, and are not intended or designed to substitute for the reasonable exercise of independent clinical 
judgment. However, the protocol presented is consistent with generally accepted “standards of care” in 
pediatric audiology. 

Initial Hearing Screen/Rescreen

Otoacoustic emissions (OAEs) and automated auditory brainstem response (ABRs) are physiologic
measures that can be used to screen newborns and infants for hearing loss. The following summarized
protocols for the initial hearing screen/rescreen process were obtained from the 2019 JCIH Position
Statement.
		  Screening Protocols in the Well-Infant Nursery
		        OAEs and automated ABRs are both acceptable screening measures for infants in the well-
		        infant nursery. 
		        Infants in the well-infant nursery who fail automated ABR testing should not be rescreened  		
		        by OAE testing and “passed,” because such infants are presumed to be at risk of
		        having a subsequent diagnosis of auditory neuropathy/dyssynchrony.
		  Screening Protocols in the NICU
		        JCIH recommends ABR technology as the only appropriate screening technique for use in
		        the NICU.
		        For infants who do not pass automated ABR testing in the NICU, referral should be made
		        directly to an audiologist for rescreening and, when indicated, comprehensive evaluation,
		        including diagnostic ABR testing, rather than general outpatient rescreening.
		  Outpatient Rescreening for Infants Who Do Not Pass the Birth Admission Screening
		        The outpatient rescreening should include the testing of both ears, even if only one ear 		
		        failed the inpatient screening.
		        If the infant does not pass the rescreening, a referral for a diagnostic evaluation should be
		        made to an audiologist.

Professional qualifications for Providers Completing Diagnostic Assessments

Any audiologist accepting infants for diagnostic audiological evaluations should be prepared with the 
equipment, training and skills to complete the procedures recommended by (JCIH).  A licensed audiologist 
with experience in the pediatric population is the professional best qualified to perform diagnostic audiological 
assessments for infants. If the audiologist does not have the expertise and/or equipment necessary to evaluate 
and manage infants/young children, consideration for a referral should be made to professionals and facilities 
that provide pediatric diagnostic services. 
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Recommended Pediatric Audiologic Assessment

Birth to 6 Months of Age

When testing infants birth to 6 months of age, the confirmatory audiological test battery includes:
•	 Child and family history (including an evaluation of risk factors for congenital hearing loss).
•	 Assessment of parental report of the infant’s response to environmental sounds.
•	 Clinician  observation  of  the  infant’s  auditory  behavior  as  a  crosscheck  in  conjunction  with 

electrophysiological measures.
•	 Confirm middle ear status with one or more of the following techniques:

1.	 High frequency tympanometry.
2.	 Pneumatic otoscopy by a physician experienced in its application.
3.	 Acoustic reflex threshold testing should be considered especially with concern of auditory neuropathy.
4.	 Distortion product and/or transient evoked OAEs (TEOAE and/or DPOAE).
5.	 Frequency specific assessment of hearing sensitivity using ABR air-conduction toneburst at 500Hz, 

1000Hz, 2000Hz, and 4000Hz with bone-conduction toneburst utilized when indicated.
6.	 When permanent hearing loss is detected, frequency-specific ABR testing is needed to determine the 

degree and configuration of hearing loss in each ear for fitting of amplification devices.
7.	 Click-evoked ABR testing using both condensation and rarefaction single-polarity stimulus, if there 

are risk indicators for neural hearing loss (auditory neuropathy/auditory dyssynchrony) such as 
hyperbilirubinemia or anoxia, to determine if a cochlear microphonic is present.

8.	 Because some infants with neural hearing loss have no risk indicators, any infant who demonstrates 
“no response” on ABR elicited by tone-burst stimuli must be evaluated by a click-evoked ABR.

9.	 Identify cases of non-permanent hearing loss (non-congenital origin, such as fluctuating conclusive loss).

Six Months to 36 Months of Age

•	 For subsequent testing of infants and toddlers at developmental ages of 6 to 36 months, the confirmatory 
audiological test battery includes:

•	 Child and family history including an evaluation of risk factors for congenital hearing loss and parental 
report of auditory and visual behaviors and communication milestones.

•	 Confirm middle ear status with one or more of the following techniques:
1.	 Tympanometry.
2.	 Pneumatic otoscopy by a physician experienced in its application.
3.	 Acoustic reflex threshold testing should be considered especially when concern is present of 		

auditory neuropathy.
4.	 Distortion product and/or transient evoked OAEs (TEOAE and/or DPOAE), when indicated.
5.	 Behavioral audiometry (either visual reinforcement or conditioned-play audiometry, depending on the 

child’s developmental level), including pure-tone audiometry across the frequency range for each ear.
6.	 ABR testing if responses to behavioral audiometry are not reliable.

Once Assessment is Completed

•	 It is important to discuss the results of the evaluation and follow-up recommendations with parents.
•	 The audiologist is responsible for entering the initial diagnostic and any subsequent audiological evaluation 

results into ERAVE within 2 days following the appointment. 
•	 Notify the infant’s Medical Home Provider (MHP) of results.

Normal Hearing

•	 Provide information to the parents about hearing, speech and language milestones and information 
regarding risk indicators for progressive hearing loss. Encourage the parents to schedule the infant for a 
follow-up evaluation in the future should concerns arise.



13Otolaryngologist’ Guide for Infant Diagnostic Evaluation

Normal Hearing (Identified as “At Risk” for Acquired or Late Onset Hearing Loss)

•	 The JCIH Year 2019 Position Statement: Principles and Guidelines for Early Hearing Detection and 
Intervention Programs has outlined those conditions that put infants at greater risk for late onset/
progressive or progressive hearing loss. These indicators include:

1.	 Caregiver concern regarding hearing, speech, language or developmental delay.*
2.	 Family history of permanent childhood hearing loss.*
3.	 Neonatal intensive care admission of more than 5 days or any of the following, regardless of length of 

stay: ECMO, assisted ventilation,* exposure to ototoxic medications (gentamycin and tobramycin) or 
loop diuretics (furosemide/Lasix), and hyperbilirubinemia that requires exchange transfusion.*

4.	 In utero infections, such as CMV, herpes, rubella, syphilis, and toxoplasmosis.*
5.	 Craniofacial anomalies, including those that involve the pinna, ear canal, ear tags, ear pits and 

temporal bone anomalies.
6.	 Physical findings, such as white forelock, that are associated with a syndrome known to include 

sensorineural or permanent conductive hearing loss.
7.	 Syndromes associated with hearing loss or progressive or late-onset hearing loss such as 

neurofibromatosis,* osteopetrosis, and Usher syndrome; other frequently identified syndromes 
include Waardenburg, Alport, Pendred, and Jervell and Lange-Nielson.

8.	 Neurodegenerative disorders, such as Hunter syndrome* or sensory motor neuropathies, such as 
Friedreich ataxia and Charcot-Marie-Tooth syndrome.

9.	 Culture-positive postnatal infections associated with sensorineural hearing loss, including confirmed 
bacterial and viral (especially herpes viruses and varicella) meningitis.*

10.	Head trauma, such as basal skull/temporal bone fracture, * that requires hospitalization.
11.	Chemotherapy*

               *Greater concern for delayed onset hearing loss
•	 The timing and number of hearing reevaluations for children with risk factors should be customized and 

individualized depending on the relative likelihood of a subsequent delayed-onset hearing loss.  According 
to the JCIH 2019 Position Statement, all infants with a risk factor for hearing loss should be referred for 
an audiological assessment at least once by 24 to 30 months of age. Children with risk indicators that 
are highly associated with delayed-onset hearing loss, such as having received ECMO or CMV infection, 
should have more frequent audiological assessments. 

•	 The Arkansas Infant Hearing Program collects risk factor data from the birth facilities in the ERAVE system. 
The birth facility has the responsibility of assessing all newborns for risk factors, and for reporting any 
recognized risk factors to the IHP through ERAVE. The birth facility should notify the newborn’s Medical 
Home Provider (MHP) of any identified risk factors associated with the potential for late onset/progressive 
or progressive hearing loss that warrants the need for ongoing audiological evaluations. 

Confirmed Hearing Loss

•	 If a permanent hearing loss is present, the audiologist should make the necessary accommodations for the 
infant to be fit with amplification and be seen for follow up care, as needed. This includes a referral to Early 
Intervention (EI), medical clearance from an ENT, and all results/recommendations sent to the Medical 
Home Provider (MHP). The diagnosing audiologist should provide the parent/responsible party with the 
information they need to make informed decisions regarding early intervention options.

•	 If the presence of middle-ear fluid or pathology is noted with a hearing loss, the infant should be referred 
to the Medical Home Provider (MHP) for diagnosis, treatment, and potential referral to ENT. A follow-up 
appointment should be within 4-6 weeks to determine middle ear status and complete testing to rule out 
sensorineural hearing loss within 4-6 weeks. If middle ear fluid persists, every effort should be made to 
assess hearing status within the three months time window.
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Reporting Results to EHDI

Introduction

The Electronic Registration of Arkansas Vital Records (ERAVE) system is provided by the Arkansas 
Department of Health. The ERAVE system provides authorized users a secure, online method for submitting 
and managing reports of vital events including deaths, infant hearing screenings, births, and fetal deaths. The 
Arkansas Infant Hearing Program utilizes ERAVE for reporting infant hearing screening results and tracking 
infants with known or suspected hearing loss (follow up). ERAVE allows hospital staff, audiologists, Primary 
Care Physicians (PCP), Early Intervention Specialists, and IHP staff to facilitate children with hearing loss are 
receiving the timely follow-up and specialized care they need. 

Evaluation Status
•	 Completed – Evaluation obtained, results may be abnormal, normal, or unspecified. 
•	 Could Not Test – Child present for evaluation, but no information obtained. 
•	 Inconclusive – Evaluation attempted, but minimal data obtained preventing the evaluation from being 

completed or determining if hearing loss exists.
•	 Previously Passed – Evaluation not conducted due to child previously passing evaluation.

Type of HL
•	 Conductive Permanent – Child has a permanent conductive hearing loss preventing sound from reaching 

the outer or middle ear; includes atresia, microtia, etc. Definite EI referral. 
•	 Conductive Undetermined – Child has abnormal evaluation results, but further testing is required to 

confirm permanent loss or resolve the issue causing the loss at the time of evaluation. Child will be re-
evaluated and additional information submitted. EI referrals will be made on a case-by-case basis if signs 
of developmental delay present or if the case is unresolved for a long period of time. Unknown if hearing 
loss is permanent or not.

•	 Mixed – Child has a permanent hearing loss including both a conductive and a sensorineural loss. 
      Definite EI referral.
•	 Sensorineural – Child has a permanent hearing loss due to a problem in the inner ear or hearing nerve. 

Definite EI referral.
•	 Neural – Child has a permanent hearing loss due to damage to the inner ear or Auditory nerve (Auditory 

Neuropathy Spectrum Disorder - ANSD). Definite EI referral. 
•	 Transient – Child has a fluctuating conductive condition indicating hearing loss of a non-congenital origin. 

The hearing loss is lasting only for a short time; non-permanent. EI referral is likely not required.

Hearing Loss
•	 Yes –   Evaluation completed. Results are abnormal and hearing loss is likely permanent. 
•	 No –   Evaluation completed. Results are normal. 
•	 Undetermined – Evaluation completed, but not complete enough to confirm hearing loss or normal 

hearing. Results are inconclusive or hearing loss is likely temporary. 

Special Reminders

•	 Audiologist should include notations in the notes tab if there are details not otherwise addressed by the 
standard menu item response (i.e. details about future appointments and related information to guide the 
IHP in next steps for every diagnosed child).

•	 Each diagnosis should identify whether permanent or non-permanet loss is suspected.
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DO give a POSITIVE message:
•	 “Your baby did not pass the hearing screening.”
•	 “Your baby did not pass on (the left/right or either ear), which means more 

information is needed about your baby’s hearing”
•	 “The next step is an outpatient follow-up rescreen for your baby when they 

are at least 10 days old”.

DO give the “AR Specific Roadmap” handout to explain processes for 
rescreen and audiological diagnostic evaluations.

DO discuss why an outpatient follow-up rescreen is needed. According to your 
hospital’s newborn hearing screening procedures, possibly offer to assist with 
getting an appointment with another facility if your hospital does not perform 
follow-up rescreens. 

DO NOT say: 
•	 Your baby failed or referred.
•	 A lot of babies don’t pass. (Minimizes need to attend rescreen)
•	 Your baby doesn’t need follow-up testing. 
•	 Your baby was fussy. (Then it was an invalid screening)
•	 The equipment was not working right. (Then it was an invalid screening)

DO NOT assume:
•	 It’s just because of fluid or vernix. 
•	 Your baby is deaf or hard of hearing. 
•	 Probably nothing is wrong. 

DO NOT perform multiple screens in an attempt to get a pass:
•	 Complete two screen attempts, one inpatient and one outpatient rescreen, 

then refer for diagnostic testing.

Communicating Results To Families

Suggestions for Communicating Results to Families
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Organizations who will contact you: How they can help:

Infant Hearing Program  
(Arkansas Department of Health) 
501-280-4740    
www.arhealthyhearing.com

Guide By Your Side   
(Arkansas Chapter of Hands and Voices) 
501-492-9162
www.arhandsandvoices.org

First Connections   
(Arkansas Department of Human Services)
1-800-643-8258                   
https://dhs.arkansas.gov/dds/firstconnectionsweb

ASD Outreach Services
(Arkansas School for the Deaf) 
501-324-9522 or 501-246-8452 Video Phone
http://www.arschoolforthedeaf.org 

Children with Chronic Health Conditions
 (Arkansas Department of Human Services)
1-800-482-5850 ext. 22277
https://humanservices.arkansas.gov/about-dhs/
ddds/childrens-services-information/title-v-chil-
dren-with-special-health-care-needs-cshcn

Supply information for parents on hearing screenings 
and connect parents to available resources before and 
after diagnosis to help you understand the process and 
make informed decisions. This is your first step towards 
getting early intervention services for your child.

Connect a parent guide (parent of a deaf or hard of 
hearing child) to other parents of children with hearing 
loss to provide support, share real life experiences and 
help them utilize a network of available services.

Help families with a child with special needs to secure 
services that will help the child reach their fullest 
potential, and to enhance the abilities of the family to 
assist their child.

Offer outreach services to children who are deaf and 
hard of hearing, their families and service providers. 

Provide targeted case management services 
to assist families in accessing all medical, 
social, education, and other services 
appropriate to the child’s special health care 
needs.

For more information, call the Arkansas Department of Health 
Infant Hearing Program at 501-280-4740.

Has your child 
been diagnosed 
as deaf or hard 
of hearing?
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“This project is/was supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services (HHS) under H61MC00076 Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Grant in the amount of $272,688 This information or content and 
conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by 
HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.”

Birth

Be sure your doctor 
gets the results of all 
tests!

Call or Text
Guide By Your Side

501-492-9162

Screening Results
Left Ear           Right Ear

Did not pass
Pass

Not screened 
(missed)

Home or 
Hospital Birth
1st Newborn 
Hearing Screen
Date:

Before 1 Month

Children less than 
1 month old need a 
rescreen. Children 
over 1 month old, 
need a diagnosis/
evaluation.

Call or Text
Guide By Your Side

501-492-9162

Outpatient Hearing
Screen (or Rescreen)
Place:
Date:
Time:

Screening Results
Left Ear           Right Ear

Did not pass
Pass

Not screened 
(missed)

Before 3 Months

Evaluation by a Pediatric 
Audiologist with experience 
testing children 0-6 months 
of age.

Place:
Date:             Time:

Test Results
Left Ear              Right Ear

No Hearing Loss
Hearing Loss

If a baby has a HEARING LOSS,
the next steps are:
Expect calls from:
     Arkansas Department of Health’s      
     Infant Hearing Program
     DHS’ First Connections
     Guide By Your Side
Learn about assistive listening 
devices and communication 
options.

Before 6 Months

Early Head Start 
Information

Enroll in early intervention 
program with experience 
serving children who are 
deaf or hard of hearing.
Regular visits to Pediatric 
Audiologist
*children who participate 
in early intervention prior 
to six months can have 
age appropriate skills by 
preschool.

Ophthalmologist (Eye 
Specialist)
Genetic Specialist
Other Medical Specialists 
(heart, development, 
kidneys, etc.)

Call or Text
Guide By Your Side

501-492-9162

Call or Text
Guide By Your Side

501-492-9162

Evaluations to discuss with your 
medical home provider:

Arkansas Specific Roadmap
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First newborn pediatric patient care visit

Yes No

Pass Did not pass

Obtain screening 
results by no later 

than 1 month of age 

Ensure NBHS 
results are recorded 

in patient chart

Review NBHS results 
with family and stress 
follow-up/monitoring 

for risk factors*

Refer for outpatient 
(re)screening or 

(re)screen in office** 
(if results not 
available by 

1 month of age)

Assist family in 
arranging (re)screening 

appointment

Perform (re)screening 
in office following 
AAP guidelines**

Outpatient 
(re)screening

In-office 
(re)screen

 
Not for 

NICU babies

Obtain results after 
(re)screen has been 

completed by 
1 month of age

Refer to audiologist that has experience with 
infants (Note: In some states there may be care 

coordination services that can be started through 
the early intervention program at this point)

Pass Did not pass

NoYes

Confirm diagnostic audiology visit 
is scheduled and completed by 
no later than 3 months of age

Confirm results with state 
EHDI program within 48 hours 

of receiving results

REDUCING LOSS TO FOLLOW-UP/DOCUMENTATION IN NEWBORN 
HEARING SCREENING: GUIDELINES FOR MEDICAL HOME PROVIDERS

* JCIH Risk Factors     ** AAP Guidelines on Rescreening In-Office

No Hearing 
Loss

Hearing
Loss

a  p rogram to  enhance  the  hea l th  &  deve lopment  o f  in fan t s  &  ch i ld ren

A program of the American Academy of Pediatrics in cooperation with the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention

Fetal Alcohol Spectrum
Disorders Program 

A program of the American Academy of Pediatrics in cooperation with the 

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention and Maternal & Child Health Bureau/HRSA

a program to enhance the heal th & development of  infants & chi ldren

Early Hearing Detection 
& Intervention Program

A program of the American Academy of Pediatrics in cooperation with the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention

Funding for the development of these materials was provided through a cooperative agreement (U43MC09134) between 
the American Academy of Pediatrics and the US Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services 
Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau as well as through a cooperative agreement (5U58DD00587) between the 
American Academy of Pediatrics and the National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities of the Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Content is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent 
the official views of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau or the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Refer to Part C
Early Intervention

Program,
ophthalmology,
ENT and offer

genetics referral

Confirm results
with state EHDI
program within

48 hours of
receiving results

Ensure results
are recorded

in patient chart

April 2014

What 
are the results? 

(Get results from test 
facility not verbal parent/

caregiver 
report)

Can you 
obtain NBHS

results from hospital or
state EHDI 
program? 

What are 
the results? (Get results 

from test facility not verbal 
parent/caregiver 

report)

What are 
the results from diagnostic 

audiologist?

Discuss 
EI and need
for compre-

hensive 
plan

Ongoing 
surveillance 

and 
screening

Has a 
rescreen been 

conducted? (Note: some hosp-
itals may conduct rescreen 

in hospital before 
discharge)
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Resources for Otolaryngologists

•	 Arkansas Infant Hearing Program - https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/
infant-hearing 

•	 ERAVE - https://adherave.arkansas.gov/erave/servlet/search_hitlist

•	 American Academy of Pediatrics PEHDIC - https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-
health-initiatives/PEHDIC/Pages/Early-Hearing-Detection-and-Intervention.aspx

•	 EHDI-PALS - http://www.ehdi-pals.org/Default.aspx 

•	 NCHAM - http://www.infanthearing.org/index.html

•	 Pediatric Audiology Specialty Certification - http://www.boardofaudiology.org/pediatric-audiology-
specialty-certification/

•	 American Speech-Language Hearing Association – http://www.asha.org/default.htm 

•	 JCIH 2019 Position Statement: principals and Guidelines for Early Hearing Detection and 
Intervention Programs – https://digitalcommons.usu.edu/jehdi/vol4/iss2/1/    



For more information:
Arkansas Department of Health Infant Hearing Program

4815 W. Markham, Slot 20
Little Rock, AR 72205

501-280-4740
ADHEHDI.FB@arkansas.gov
www.arhealthyhearing.com




