
Arkansas Department of Health 
Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section 

4815 West Markham, Slot #8 
Little Rock, AR  72205 

Phone: (501) 683-1448 Fax: (501) 682-5640 

Qualifications and Instruction for Licensure set forth in ACA §17-86-101 also known as the 
Arkansas Massage Therapy Act; 

License transfer is not available for Delaware, Minnesota, Texas, Vermont or 
Wyoming 

Out-of-state Active License Transfer Requirements: 

1. Applicant must be 18 years of age or older;
2. Identification - Valid Photo ID – (Driver’s License, State Issued ID Card, Passport, or US Military ID);
3. Social Security Card – A copy of your social security card;
4. Out of State License Verification-An out of state license verification form must be completed and submitted

by each State Board or office where you hold an active massage therapy license use the following link for
form. License verification must come directly from State Entity in which you are currently licensed.
https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/pdf/OOSVerification.pdf

5. Copy of current license.
6. Application – (attached below)
7. Payment - $216.25 (non-refundable)
8. Background Checks: All applicants for licensure must receive background checks – The $36.25 fee for

background check processing is now included in the licensure application fee. When the application form is
processed, background forms will be e-mailed to you with instructions to begin the process.  An additional
fee will be charged by the ‘Harvester’ location when supplying your fingerprints, the fee will be paid to them
for taking and submitting the fingerprints and is not included in the application fee.

THE $216.25 NON-REFUNDABLE FEE IS DUE AT THE TIME YOU SUBMIT 
THE FORM AND THE REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS. THE FEE AND 

APPLICATION EXPIRE ONE (1) YEAR AFTER APPLICATION DATE. 

APPLICATION PACKET MUST CONTAIN NUMBERS 2-8 BEFORE BEING 
SUBMITTED TO THE SECTION; INCOMPLETE PACKETS WILL BE 

RETURNED TO APPLICANT. 

Arkansas Massage Therapy Law Exam 
• Once all application materials are received, reviewed and approved, the Massage Section will contact you

via e-mail with instruction and link to take the online state law test. A temporary license will be issued
permitting therapist to work at the least 90 days while background results are being processed.

Arkansas Department of Health Massage Therapy Section Non-refundable Application Fees 
• Application Fee     $ 75.00
• License Fee           $ 80.00
• Law Exam Fee      $ 25.00
• Background Fee     $36.25

• Above fees are payable to ADH – Massage Therapy.
Contact Information 

Arkansas Department of Health – Massage Therapy Section 
  Mailing Address:     Physical Address: 
  4815 West Markham, Slot #8  4815 West Markham 
  Little Rock, AR 72205          Little Rock, AR 72205 
  Phone:  501-683-1448      website:  www.healthy.arkansas.gov/cos 

Total Fee  $216.25

https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/pdf/OOSVerification.pdf
http://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/cos


Application for Licensure 

All applicants for licensure must complete this form and submit it with the appropriate documentation and $216.25 
NON-REFUNDABLE application fee.  Failure to complete all parts of the application or omission of required 
documents will delay the review and process of your application.  Payment must be made payable to ADH-Massage 
Therapy. (Personal check, cashier’s check or money orders are accepted) All applications and fees expire one year from 
application date.  

Personal Information Please Type or Print Legibly 
Name (First, Middle, Last) Social Security Number 

Date of Birth Email Address 

Cell Phone Home Phone Work Phone or Alternate Phone 

Mailing  Address    Suite/Apt 

City   State  Zip  County 

Physical Address (If different than Mailing Address)  Suite/Apt 

City   State  Zip  County 

Disclosure of a social security number by an applicant is mandatory under Ark. Code Ann. §17-1-104(a) which states: 
“On and after July 1, 1997, all persons, agencies, boards, commissions, or other licensing entities issuing any occupational, 
professional, or business license pursuant to titles 2-6, 8, 9, 14, 15, 17, 20, 22, 23, and 27 of the Arkansas Code Annotated 
shall record the name, address, and social security number of each person applying for such a license.” 

If you have resided in any State other than Arkansas, please list length of residency and address 
(Attach additional sheets if necessary) 

Previous Address    Suite/Apt How long at previous address 

City   State   Zip  County 

Previous Address    Suite/Apt How long at previous address 

City   State   Zip  County 

State Information of Active Licensure 
State/Department Name Phone 

Address  Suite/Apt 

City   State  Zip  County 



Affidavit of Applicant with Acknowledgment 
(Notarization required) 

Applicant 
I declare and affirm that the statements made in this application, and any accompanying 
documents, are true, complete, and correct.  I understand that any false or misleading information 
in, or in connection with, my application may be cause for denial or loss of licensure and may 
result in criminal prosecution. 

_____________________________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant 

_________________________________________________________ 
Date 

Notary 
State of ____________________________________ 

County of __________________________________ 

Signed and sworn to before me this ___________ day of ____________________, 20_______ 

By ___________________________________________, who personally appeared before me. 

__________________________________________ (SEAL) 
Notary Public Signature 

__________________________________________ 
Notary commission expiration date 




