

Arkansas Board of Examiners in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology

## Applying for State Licensure in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology

**Graduate Student Presentation** 

# What is ABESPA?

The state board that regulates and governs all licensed practice for audiology and speech pathology in the state of Arkansas.

https://healthy.arkansas.gov/boards-commissions/boards/examiners-in-speech-language-pathology-and-audiology-arkansas-board/

# What is ABESPA's Purpose?

To protect consumers and to ensure the highest quality of services to consumers

To issue license/registration to Speech-Language Pathologists, Audiologists and SLP Assistants who meet the qualifications set forth in the law

To ensure compliance with the law and with the rules and regulations of the board

To investigate complaints

#### It's the Law

#### Established Practice Act:

- •1975 Act 277
- •1993 Revised Act 121
- •1995 Revised to add SLPAs
- •2013 Revised Act 219
- •2015- Revised to include Telepractice

Statute number 17-100-10:

http://www.abespa.com/rules\_regs/rules\_regs.htm

# Who is ABESPA?

# A regulatory board consisting of:

# 7 Members – Appointed by the Governor

- 5 Professionals
  - 2 Speech-Language Pathologists
  - 2 Audiologists
  - 1 either SLP or Audiologist
- 1 Consumer representative
- 1 Senior representative

# When does ABESPA Meet?

The Board meets every January, March, May, July, September, and November

Meetings are open to the public

Board is advised by an attorney from the Attorney General's office

Communication with the Board must be in writing before official consideration can be given to any issue.

#### How do I obtain a license?

#### Complete an Application Packet for a provisional license

#### The following must be completed and received by ABESPA within 30 days of beginning work

- Application
- Application Fee
- CFY Plan signed by you and your licensed supervisor
- Proof of degree status

#### Additional information to be sent

- Official Graduate transcripts
- Clinical Summary Report
- Official copy of PRAXIS/ETS passing score
- (ABESPA score code R8773)

Provisional License Provisional licensees are entitled to *all* rights and privileges of persons holding a full license *except* that they must be supervised

Any application can be reviewed for approval for up to 3 consecutive meetings

All licenses expire on June 30 each year.

License Expiration

All licenses MUST be renewed by June 30 each year.

Exception: any license issued within 120 days of June 30 will expire the following year.

# Continuing Professional Education

CPEs are required the year following your first renewal even if you have not completed your CFY. Licensure and CPE's run on the fiscal year – 7/1 through 6/30.

Each licensee must complete 10 hours of continuing education (15 for dual licensees) with at least 5 hours being in content area I

(Defined in Section 9 of the ABESPA Rules)

When submitting CPE's **do not** just list the conference name or title of CPE session. Be detailed and describe what the session was about.

# Continuing Education-

Content Area I Normal development of speech, language, hearing and balance

Physical basis of speech, language and hearing development

Linguistic variables related to normal development

Technical and instrumentation information that expands knowledge in the basic communication process

Disorders

Diagnostics

Principles of habilitation and rehabilitation of communication disorders and in balance and vestibular disorders

## Continuing Education-

Content Area II Must relate to audiology or speech-language pathology

Regulations and implementation of federal and/or state regulation programs

Service and delivery models

**Ethical practices** 

Administration and supervision issues

Related disciplines which interface with the delivery of SLP and Audiology services

Reimbursement issues

#### **ATTENTION**

- Notify ABESPA within

  30 days of making changes.
  - Beginning Work
  - Completing CFY- ASHA CF Report or ASHA letter
  - Changing Address
  - Changing work settings
  - Changing supervisors
  - Not sure? Contact ABESPA for guidance

# Disciplinary Actions....

#### Medicaid Fraud

Failure to maintain & supply records pertaining to services billed

Practiced with an expired license

Failure to apply within 30 days of beginning practice

Failure to substantiate CPE Hours

#### **ABESPA**

4815 W Markham, Slot 72

Little Rock, AR 72205

Tel: (501) 537-9151

abespa@arkansas.gov

Contact: Nathaniel Roe, Director

Bob Elder, Assistant

https://healthy.arkansas.gov/boardscommissions/boards/examiners-inspeech-language-pathology-andaudiology-arkansas-board/



#### **Professional Organizations**





#### 



#### FAQ'S

Q: Is ASHA membership required for state licensure?

A: No

Q: How soon must I apply for license?

A: Within the first 30 days of beginning practice.

Q. Must I hold a license during my CFYear?

**A.** Yes, Arkansas requires a provisional license See Rules-Sections 2.5 and 2.12

#### Clinical Fellowship FAQ's

#### Q. Can I begin my CF prior to receiving my advanced degree?

**A.** No. Arkansas requires applicants for licensure hold a master's or doctoral degree in speechlanguage pathology or audiology. See Section 2.8 of the Rules and Regulations.

#### Q. Must I report changes to my CF year?

**A.** Yes, within 30 calendar days of change. Changes such as the number of hours worked per week, CFY end date, or work setting can be submitted by letter, email, or fax. If your CF supervisor changes, you must complete a new CFY plan.

#### Clinical Fellowship FAQ's

#### Q. Do I need to acquire continuing education during my CFY?

**A.** A report of continuing education is not required during the initial licensing period (7/1 to 6/30) but will be required for the next licensing period even if you have not completed your CFY. See Rules-Section 9.4

#### Q. How do I convert from provisional license to full license?

**A.** You must submit documentation of the successful completion of the clinical fellowship year **within 30 days**. This proof might consist of a photocopy of the ASHA CF Report and Rating form or other verification documents.

There is no fee for the conversion.

# QUESTIONS