Arkansas Department of Health Massage Therapy Section 4815 West Markham, Slot #8 Little Rock, AR 72205 501.682.1448

# Certificate of Training

# Requirements:

APPLICATION PACKET MUST CONTAIN NUMBERS 1-4 BEFORE BEING SUBMITTED TO THE SECTION; INCOMPLETE PACKETS WILL BE RETURNED TO APPLICANT.

- Completed form (attached below) certifying completion of hours at a massage therapy program of at least 500 hours of in-classroom coursework from a department approved massage therapy school or State approved education institution and application of licensure. Curriculum must meet the state required courses as set forth in Arkansas Code 17-86-306.
- 2. Massage School Diploma A copy of your massage school diploma.
- 3. Proof of passing an approved National Examination (see below)
- 4. Payment \$105.00 (non-refundable). The \$105.00 Non-Refundable fee is due at the time you submit the form and the required attachments. The fee and application expire one (1) year after application date.

Page | 1 COT Revised 8.24

# Required Information for Examinations:

### National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB)

NCBTMB offers two exams for securing your state license in massage.

The National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) and National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCETMB) Exams.

Depending on your area of interest, expertise and the requirements, you may choose to take either the NCETM (National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage) or the NCETMB (National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork).

Both exams--based on your state requirements--may be used to become a licensed massage therapist. The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork(NCBTMB)

Toll Free (NCBTMB): 1-800-296-0664

Or send an email to: info@ncbtmb.org Website: www.ncbtmb.org

## Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx)

- The MBLEx is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards(FSMTB).
- Applicants must contact the FSMTB directly for MBLEx information or to schedule testing.
- MBLEx Handbook and Application form are available at www.fsmtb.org.

The Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB)

Toll Free (MBLEx Specific): 866-962-3926

Fax: 615-846-0153

Toll Free (FSMTB): 888-703-7682

Website: <a href="www.fsmtb.org">www.fsmtb.org</a> email: <a href="mailto:info@fsmtb.org">info@fsmtb.org</a>

MBLEx specific email: mblex@fsmtb.org

Page | 2 COT Revised 8.24

# **Contact Information:**

Arkansas Department of Health – Massage Therapy Section Mailing Address:
4815 West Markham, Slot #8
Little Rock, AR 72205

Physical Address: 4815 West Markham Little Rock, AR 72205

Phone: 501-683-1448

website: www.healthy.arkansas.gov

#### **Arkansas Massage Therapy Law Exam**

Once all application materials and associated background checks are received, reviewed and approved, the Massage Section will contact you via e-mail with instruction and link to take the online state law test.

\*If a re-take of the Arkansas Law Exam is necessary, an additional fee of \$25.00 per each re-take exam is required prior to re-testing.

#### **Arkansas Department of Health Massage Therapy Section Application Fees**

 License Fee
 \$ 80.00

 Law Exam Fee
 \$ 25.00

 Total Fee
 \$105.00

Above fees are payable to ADH – Massage Therapy.

All applicants for licensure must complete this form and submit it with the appropriate documentation and \$105.00 **NON- REFUNDABLE** application fee. Failure to complete all parts of the application or omission of required documents will delay the review and process of your application. Payment must be made payable to ADH-Massage Therapy.(Personal checks, cashier's check, and money order are accepted) **All applications and fees expire one year from application date.** 

Page | 3 COT Revised 8.24

#### **Student's Personal Information**

Name (First, Middle, Last)									Social Secu	urity Number
Date of Birth Email			mail Addr	1 Address				Gender		
Cell Phone			Hon	Home Phone			V	Vork Phone or Alt	ernate Phone	
Physical Address Suite/Apt										
City State				:	Zip			County		
Mailing Address (If different than Physical Address)  Suite/Apt										
City State			:	Zip			County			
Training Information – Only report the information pertaining to this permit/enrollment period.										
School ID			lame of S						City	<del></del>
Current Month	h Hours I		Previous	Previous Month Hours			Type of Massage Training			
	Days			Days				Student	Apprentice	
Start Date Droppe			ropped fro	m Train	ing	In Person	In Person Hours Obtained		Apprentice Hours Obtained	
Physical Address Suite/Apt										
Notes:										
Disclosure of a social security number by an applicant is mandatory under Ark. Code Ann. §17-1-104(a) which states:  "On and after July 1, 1997, all persons, agencies, boards, commissions, or other licensing entities issuing any occupational, professional, or business license pursuant to titles 2-6, 8, 9, 14, 15, 17, 20, 22, 23, and 27 of the Arkansas Code Annotated shall record the name, address, and social security number of each person applying for such a license."										
				ort the ho	ours re	ceived during	this pern	nit/enr	ollment period	•
Tuition paid in full Number		Number				Number of Unc	ertified Hours		Total Hours Cor	npleted
Non-Payment of tuition is the only reason to withhold (Uncertified) hours according to law. Instructor or School Owner Hour Certification section. Any person who willfully makes false statements regarding training is										
						e Therapy Te		lvisory	Committee.	To dow's Data
Instructor/School Owner's Printed Name			Sig	Signature of Instructor/School Owner					Today's Date	
Student's Printed Name			Sig	Signature of Student					Today's Date	
include Federal statutes, \$ affect completion or apprr fingerprints and associate the FBI's Next Generation responsible agency. The FI other fingerprints submitte information may be disclo Register, including the Rou	State statut oval of your d informati Identificati BI may reta ed to or reta sed pursua utine Uses nt, contrac	tes pursuant to r application. F ion/biometrics ion (NGI) syste ain your fingerp ained by NGI. I ant to your con for the NGI sys	o Pub. L. 92-5. Principal Purpis may be provien or its succeptions and assignment of the light o	44, Presidentia ose: Certain de ided to the emp essor systems ( ociated informa During the pro y be disclosed FBI's Blanket R	al Executive of termination obloying, inve- (including ci- ation/biome occessing of the without you outine Uses	Orders, and federal regu- ns, such as employment ststigating, or otherwise r- ivil, criminal, and latent etrics in NGI after the co- this application and for a ur consent as permitted a s. Routine uses include,	ulations. Providing t, licensing, and se responsible agence fingerprint reposi ompletion of this a as long thereafter by the Privacy Act but are not limite	g your finger ecurity clear cy, and/or the itories) or oth application a as your finge of 1974 and d to, disclos	prints and associated inforances, may be predicated e FBI for the purpose of coher available records of thind, while retained, your fierprints and associated in all applicable Routine Usures to: employing, gover	ure of your application, supplemental authorities ormation is voluntary; however, failure to do so may do nfingerprint-based background checks. Your omparing your fingerprints to other fingerprints in e employing, investigating, or otherwise ngerprints may continue to be compared against formation/biometrics are retained in NGI, your ses as may be published at any time in the Federal nmental or authorized non-governmental agencies iminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible

Page | 4 COT Revised 8.24

# Affidavit of Applicant with Acknowledgment

(Notarization required)

Applicant										
,, the undersigned understand the personal information and fingerprints submitted by ADH, Section of Cosmetology and Massage Therapy are used to search against criminal identification records from both Arkansas Crime Information Center ACIC) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). I hereby authorize the release of any records to ADH, Section of Cosmetology and Massage Therapy. I further understand ACIC and the FBI may also retain the submitted information and fingerprints as Permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974, 5 JSC §552a, for routine uses beyond the principal purpose listed above.										
I declare and affirm that the statements mad documents, are true, complete, and correct in, or in connection with, my application may in criminal prosecution.	. I understand that any fals	se or misleading information								
Signature of Applicant										
Date										
Notary State of										
County of										
Signed and sworn to before me this	day of	, 20								
By	, who personally a	ppeared before me.								
Notary Public Signature		(SEAL)								
Notary commission expiration date										

Page | 5 COT Revised 8.24