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Application for Upgrade 
Complete this application to upgrade a current active massage therapy license to master 

massage therapy license or to upgrade a master massage therapy license to massage 
therapy instructor license.  THIS APPLICATION DOES NOT REPLACE A RENEWAL 

APPLICATION HOWEVER BOTH A RENEWAL APPLICATION AND AN APPLICATION FOR 
UPGRADE ALONG WITH APPROPRIATE FEES FOR BOTH APPLICATIONS CAN BE MAILED AT 

THE SAME TIME. 
ALL applications and fees expire one year from application date.

Renewal applications can be found on the Arkansas Department of Health website: http://
www.healthy.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/pdf/Instructions_and_Application_for_ 

Licensure_renewal_revised_11.pdf  

Upgrade To: □ Master Massage Therapist, $191.25 □Massage Therapy Instructor, $191.25

Copy of Current License:  □ Yes □No  License #:________________________ 

Name:  Date: 

Address: 

City, State, Zip: 

Business Phone: Home Phone:  

Driver’s License Number: Social Security Number: 

NOTE: All applicants for upgrade must receive background checks – The $36.25 fee for 
background check processing is now included in the licensure application fee. When the 
application form is processed, background forms will be e-mailed to you with instructions to 
begin the process.  An additional fee will be charged by the ‘Harvester’ location when supplying 
your fingerprints, the fee will be paid to them for taking and submitting the fingerprints and is 
not included in the application fee.  

I certify that I have completed the 250 hours of practical experience as a: 

□ Massage Therapist for upgrade to Master Massage Therapist; or

□ Master Massage Therapist for upgrade to Massage Therapy Instructor

As stated in the Arkansas State Board of Health Massage Therapy Laws, Act 1020 of 2015. 

Arkansas Department of Health 
Massage Therapy Section 
4815 West Markham, Slot #8 
Little Rock, AR  72205 
Phone: (501) 683-1448 
Fax: (501) 682-5640 

http://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/pdf/Instructions_and_Application_for_Licensure_renewal_revised_11.pdf
http://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/pdf/Instructions_and_Application_for_Licensure_renewal_revised_11.pdf
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Applicants applying for Upgrade to Master Massage Therapist must provide 125 approved CEU 
hours according to Act 1020 of 2015.  Applicants applying for Upgrade to Massage Therapy 
Instructor must provide 250 approved CEU hours from courses that were taken after they 
became a Master Massage Therapist.  

Please list courses you have attended for your Continuing Education requirement hours, approved by the 
Department, approval number, and attach copies of your certificates from those courses signed by your 
instructor showing the documented hours. Continuing Education Courses approved by other states or 
organizations may be considered for approval. Attach additional sheets if necessary.  

Approved By   Approval #  Title of Program     Hours 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 

_______________ _______________ ____________________________________ __________ 
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Affidavit of Applicant with Acknowledgment 
(Must be notarized) 

Applicant 

I declare and affirm that the statements made in this application, including Certification of Practical 
Experience and any accompanying documents, are true, complete and correct.  I understand that any false 
or misleading information in, or in connection with, my application may be cause for denial or loss of 
licensure and may result in criminal prosecution. 

________________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant 

________________________________________ 
Date 

Notary 

State of __________________________________ 

County of ________________________________ 

Signed and sworn to before me this __________ day of ________________________, 20________ by 

__________________________________________, who personally appeared before me. 

_____________________________________________________ (SEAL) 
Notary Public Signature 

_____________________________________________________ 
Notary Commission Expiration Date 


