Arkansas Department of Health Office of Vital Records, mail slot 44 State Registrar 4815 West Markham Street Little Rock, AR 72205

Request for an Adopted Person's Original Birth Record Instructions

Who May Apply?

Beginning August 1, 2018 qualified applicants who are authorized by state law to obtain an adoption file containing an original certified copy of the birth certificate established prior to an adoption may request the file.

Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 9-9-803, the following individuals are qualified applicants authorized to receive an adoption file:

A person 21 years of age or older who can establish himself or herself as one of the following:

- The adopted person;
- The child, surviving spouse, or guardian of the child of the deceased adoptee.

How Qualified Applicants Obtain an Adopted Person's Adoption File:

If you are authorized to receive an adoption file, then you may obtain it by mailing all of the following to the Department of Health, Office of Vital Records:

- Request form VR-504;
- · Copies of all identification items listed below;
- Documentation listed below to establish your relationship to the adoptee;
- Fee of \$100 (Non-refundable)
 - Please do not send cash by mail. Checks and money orders should be made payable to the "Arkansas Department of Health."
 - Note: For applications received prior to August 1, 2018, we will search for the record and cash your check, but documents will not be mailed out until after August 1, 2018, in accordance with the law.

Mail to: Arkansas Department of Health

Office of Vital Records, mail slot 44

State Registrar

4815 West Markham Street Little Rock, Arkansas 72205

What You Will Receive if You Meet the Requirements for Receipt of an Adoption File and if the Office of Vital Records Locates the Requested Adoption File:

- A copy of the birth records containing the original certified copy of the birth certificate, which will clearly state "NOT INTENDED FOR OFFICIAL USE OR SIMILAR."
 - A birth parent may direct the State Registrar to redact (remove) his or her name from their child's original adoption file.
 - If a birth parent has made a request to have their name redacted from the birth file, a copy
 of the adopted person's original adoption file will have birth parent's name redacted.
- Contact information for birth parents and contact preference. IF provided by birth parents.
- Family History (medical, social and cultural), IF provided by birth parents.

Request for an Adopted Person's Original Birth Record

Arkansas Department of Health Office of Vital Records, mail slot 44 State Registrar 4815 West Markham Street Little Rock, AR 72205

Instructions (Continued)

Identification Requirements:

If you are requesting your OWN record, you must include your address and notarized signature and satisfactory proof of your identity. The following are acceptable forms of ID:

- United States issued driver's license or identification card
- United States Territories driver's license or identification card
- Tribal identification card that contains bearer's signature
- U.S. military identification card that contains bearer's signature
- Passport United States or foreign issued
- Visa in a passport with bearer's signature on the passport, not the Visa
- Resident Alien Card (Form I-551)
- Employment Authorization Card (Form I-766)
- Employment Authorization Card (Form I-688A)
- Temporary Resident Card (Form I-688)

A valid government-issued identification document should contain a photo, current address, signature and a unique number or barcode (e.g. driver's license number, passport number) assigned to the person.

If a requestor does not have an acceptable or valid photo government-issued identification document, at least two other pieces of documentation are required that establish a preponderance of evidence of identity. These secondary documents should contain together a current address and signature of the requestor. AR Vital Records reserves the right to request additional evidence as appropriate. If the requestor is unable to satisfy the documentation requirements, the request will not be processed.

Examples of identification documents that are acceptable if verifiable:

- Current employment identification card with photo, accompanied with paystub or W-2
- Current school, university, college identification card with photo, accompanied with a report card or other proof of current school enrollment
- Department of Corrections identification card, accompanied by probation documents or discharge papers
- Social Security/Medicare Card (must be signed)
- Pilot's license
- Car registration or title with current address
- U.S. Selective Service Card
- Voter's Registration Card
- Filed federal tax form (with current address and signatures)
- Bank statement or utility bill (gas, water, electric, sewer, phone) with current address
- Court documents with current address

If you are requesting the record of an adoptee for whom you are a child, widow or widower, or guardian of deceased adoptee:

- ID as indicated above;
- Your own birth certificate: AND
- You must establish and provide notarized documentation as evidence that you are the person's child, widow or widower, or guardian by providing proof that links the name on your ID to the name of the adoptee. For example: your birth certificate showing the adoptee's name as your parent on your birth certificate, or a marriage certificate with the adoptee's name.