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SECTION I.  AUTHORITY 

 The following Rules Pertaining to Water Operator Licensing are duly adopted and 
promulgated by the Arkansas State Board of Health pursuant to the authority 
expressly conferred by the Laws of the State of Arkansas including, without limitation, 
Act 96 of 1913, as amended, Act 333 of 1957 as amended Act 1001 of 1991 as 
amended and Act 494 of 1997 as amended. (See Arkansas Codes Annotated, Title 
17, Chapter 51, Sections 101 - 106, and Sections 201 - 205) 

SECTION II.  PURPOSE 

 These Rules are adopted for the purpose of ensuring that all public water systems in 
the State of Arkansas are operated by personnel who have shown their competence 
and knowledge of the public health and scientific principles necessary to produce and 
deliver adequate quantities of water which meets or exceeds the National Primary and 
Secondary Drinking Water Standards. 

SECTION III.   DEFINITIONS 

A. ADVANCED TREATMENT means the application of physical processes (Some 
examples are aerators, clarifiers or filters.) to water, for the purposes of 
improving the quality or condition of the water. 

B. BOARD means the Arkansas State Board of Health. 

C. COMMITTEE means the Drinking Water Advisory And Operator Licensing 
Committee. 

D. DEPARTMENT means the Arkansas Department of Health. 

E. LATE RENEWAL means an application for renewal when the application for 
renewal or the associated fee is received more than thirty (30) days following 
the beginning of a renewal period.  

F. OPERATE means to make decisions or conduct acts that contribute to the 
production, treatment, or delivery of potable water by the water system, if such 
decisions or acts involve process control or system integrity. 

G. OPERATING SHIFT means that period of time during which operator decisions 
that affect public health are necessary for proper operation of the water system. 

H. OWNER means any person, firm, corporation, institution, or governmental 
agency, or their agent, owning, operating, or modifying any public water 
system, water distribution facility or water treatment facility. 

I. PUBLIC WATER SYSTEM or PWS means all sources and their surroundings 
from which water is derived for drinking or domestic purposes by the public, 
and all structures, conduits, and appurtenances in connection therewith by 
which water for such use is obtained, treated, conditioned, stored or delivered 
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to the public, if such system has at least fifteen service connections or serves 
an average of twenty-five individuals daily at least 60 days per year. 

1. COMMUNITY PUBLIC WATER SYSTEM means any public water 
systems, which serves at least 15 service connections used by year-
round residents or regularly serves at least 25 year-round residents. 

2. NON-COMMUNITY PUBLIC WATER SYSTEM means a public water 
system that serves at least 15 service connections or 25 persons per 
day that is not a community water system. 

a. NON-TRANSIENT NON-COMMUNITY PUBLIC WATER 
SYSTEM means a Non-Community Water System that serves 
at least 25 of the same individuals at least 180 days (or 
portions thereof) per year. 

b. TRANSIENT NON-COMMUNITY PUBLIC WATER SYSTEM is 
any Non-Community Public Water System that is not a Non-
Transient Non-Community Public Water System. 

3. CONSECUTIVE SYSTEMS are public water systems that obtain all or 
part of their water supply, either directly or indirectly, from another 
public water system. 

4. SMALL WATER SYSTEM shall mean a Public Water System serving a 
total population of less than 500, including the population of any 
consecutive Public Water Systems that it operates. 

J. SURFACE WATER means water that flows over or rests upon the surface of 
the earth. 

K. SURFACE WATER INFLUENCED SOURCE means any source with 
significant occurrence of insects or other macro-organisms, algae, or large 
diameter pathogens such as Giardia lamblia, or which is subject to significant 
changes in water quality which are determined to be in direct relationship with 
the climatological or surface water conditions. 

L. TREATMENT means the application of physical processes and/or the addition 
of chemicals to water which a public water system provides to the public, for 
the purposes of improving the quality of the water, except that the addition of 
gaseous chlorine, calcium hypochlorite or sodium hypochlorite alone shall not 
be defined as treatment. 

M. WATER DISTRIBUTION FACILITIES shall mean that portion of the public 
water system in which water is stored and conveyed from the water treatment 
facilities or other supply point to the premises of a water consumer. This type of 
facility would also include groundwater sources without treatment. 

1. A single pressure plane distribution facility is a distribution network that 
has only one pressure gradient downstream of the source of supply. 
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2. A multiple pressure plane distribution facility is a distribution network that 
has more than a single pressure gradient downstream of the source of 
supply.  A booster pump station or a pressure reducing valve could 
create the additional pressure gradient.  A booster pump or a pressure 
reducing valve serving an individual or small group of service 
connections would not be considered as a separate pressure gradient. 

N. WATER OPERATOR means any person who during the performance of their 
regular duties, at all community public water system, all non-transient non-
community public water system, or any other non-community public water 
system that utilizes a surface water source or surface water influenced source, 
exercises individual judgment, whether directly or indirectly, that might affect 
the safety, quality, or quantity of water delivered from the water system. (The 
term Operator generally includes, but is not limited to, Managers, Assistant 
Managers, Superintendents, Assistant Superintendents, Construction and 
Maintenance Foremen, treatment plant personnel and other persons 
responsible for the operation and maintenance of wells, reservoirs, water 
treatment facilities, water distribution facilities, and pumping facilities.) 

O. WATER OPERATOR(S) IN RESPONSIBLE CHARGE is defined as the water 
operator(s) designated by the owner to be the licensed operator(s) who is in 
direct supervision of the water system regarding the daily operational activities 
and protocols that an operator(s) follows when operating a public water 
system, water treatment facility and/or distribution facility. 

P. WATER OPERATOR-IN-TRAINING means any Water Operator who has 
successfully completed the formal license examination but has not met the 
experience requirement. 

Q. WATER TREATMENT FACILITIES shall mean that portion of the public water 
system in which water is obtained and treated. 

SECTION IV. APPLICABILITY 

These Rules apply to Public Water Systems and any individual who seeks certification 
or licensure to perform the duties of a Water Operator or other activities for which 
certification or licensure as a Water Operator is available from the Department of 
Health. All Public Water Systems and any individual performing the duties of a Water 
Operator must comply with these Rules. 

SECTION V. LICENSE TYPE AND GRADE OF LICENSE REQUIRED 

A. The owners of all community public water systems, all non-transient non-
community public water systems, and those other non-community public water 
systems that utilize a surface water source or surface water influenced 
groundwater source must place the direct supervision of the water system 
under an available Water Operator(s) in Responsible Charge holding a valid 
license equal to or greater than the classification of the treatment facility and/or 
distribution facility. 
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B. All Community public water systems, all Non-Transient Non-Community public 
water systems and those other non-community public water systems that utilize 
a surface water source or surface water influenced groundwater source must 
have a licensed operator available for each operating shift. 

C. Water Operators that perform water treatment facility duties must hold a valid 
active Water Treatment Operator License. Water Operators that perform duties 
in a water distribution facility must hold a valid active Water Distribution 
Operator License. Water Operators that perform both water treatment facility 
and water distribution facility duties must hold a valid active Water Treatment 
Operator License and a valid active Water Distribution Operator License. 

D. Water Treatment Facilities shall be classified as Grade I, Grade II, Grade III 
and Grade IV facilities according to the facilities size and complexity of 
treatment, with Grade IV being the largest most complex. 

E. Water Distribution Facilities shall be classified as Very Small Water System, 
Grade I, Grade II, Grade III and Grade IV facilities according to the facilities 
size and complexity of treatment, with Grade IV being the largest most 
complex. 

F. Water Treatment Facilities and Distribution Facilities shall be classified in 
accordance with Table 1. Water Operators, Operators In Responsible Charge 
or Operators-In-Training of these facilities shall be licensed in the appropriate 
grades and license types in accordance with Table 1. (See page 5 and 
Attachment 1.) 

G. Community and non-transient non-community public water systems and any 
other non-community public water system that utilizes a surface water source 
or surface water influenced source shall be classified based on the highest 
level of certification required to operate any of the system's treatment facilities 
and the highest level of certification required to operate any of the system’s 
distribution facilities. 
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Public Water System and Operator Required Licenses 
 
WATER TREATMENT OPERATOR LICENSE 
 

TYPE OF TREATMENT POPULATION SERVED 
(Include consecutive 
system population.) 

IS ORC* OR 
A SUPERIOR? 

LICENSE GRADE 
REQUIRED 

CHEMICAL ADDITION 25 TO 3,299 /////////// I 
 3,300 TO 9,999 YES II 
  NO I 
 10,000 TO 49,999 YES III 
  NO II 
 50,000 OR GREATER YES IV 
  NO III 

ADVANCED TREATMENT 25 TO 3,299 /////////// II 

 3,300 TO 9,999 YES III 
  NO II 
 10,000 OR GREATER YES IV 
  NO III 

 
 

WATER DISTRIBUTION OPERATOR LICENSE 
 

DISTRIBUTION 
FACILITY 
COMPLEXITY 

POPULATION SERVED 
(Include consecutive 
system population, if 
operated by this water 
system.) 

IS ORC* OR 
A SUPERIOR? 

LICENSE GRADE 
REQUIRED 

SINGLE PRESSURE 25 TO 499 /////////// SMALL SYSTEM 
PLANE – NO PUMP(S) 500 TO 3,299 /////////// I 
EXCEPT SOURCE/WTP 3,300 TO 9,999 YES II 
PUMP(S)  NO I 
 10,000 TO 49,999 YES III 
  NO II 
 50,000 OR GREATER YES IV 
  NO III 

MULTIPLE PRESSURE  25 TO 499 /////////// I 
PLANES 500 TO 3,299 /////////// II 
 3,300 T0 9,999 YES III 
  NO II 
 10,000 OR GREATER YES IV 
  NO III 

 

*Operator in Responsible Charge 
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H. During routine sanitary surveys of public water systems, Department staff shall 
examine the organizational structure of each system and identify all positions or 
classes of positions for which licensure is required and determine if they are a 
supervisory position for licensing purposes. 

I. The licensure determinations may be appealed by the public water systems to 
the Committee for their review and determination. 

J. Licensed operators must notify this office in writing of any changes in their 
employment, contract operation or volunteer status with a Public Water 
System. 

SECTION VI.  CRIMINAL OFFENSES 

A. Prohibiting Criminal Offenses  

1. An individual is not eligible to receive or hold a license issued by the 
Board if that individual has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to or been 
found guilty of any of the offenses detailed in Ark. Code Ann. §17-3-102 
et. seq. by any court in the State of Arkansas or of any similar offense by 
a court in another state or of any similar offense by a federal court, 
unless the conviction was lawfully sealed under the Comprehensive 
Criminal Record Sealing Act of 2013 § 16-90-1401 et. seq. or otherwise 
sealed pardoned or expunged under prior law. 

2. The Board may grant a waiver as authorized by Ark. Code Ann. § 17-3-
102 in certain circumstances.  

3. The Board is not authorized to conduct criminal background checks but 
may inquire about criminal convictions upon application or renewal of a 
license.  Any applicant or licensee which provides false information to 
the Board regarding a criminal conviction may be subject to suspension, 
revocation or denial of a license. 

B. Pre-Licensure Prohibiting Offense Determination 

1. Pursuant to Act 990 of 2019, an individual may petition for a pre-
licensure determination of whether the individual’s criminal record will 
disqualify the individual from licensure and whether a waiver may be 
obtained.   

2. The individual must obtain the pre-licensure criminal background check 
petition form from the Board. 

3. The Board will respond with a decision in writing to a completed petition 
within a reasonable time. 

4. The Board’s response will state the reason(s) for the decision. 
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5. All decisions of the Board in response to the petition will be determined 
by the information provided by the individual. 

6. Any decision made by the Board in response to a pre-licensure criminal 
background check petition is not subject to appeal. 

7. The Board will retain a copy of the petition and response and it will be 
reviewed during the formal application process. 

SECTION VII.  EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 

A. Applicants for licensing shall have a high school diploma or General 
Equivalency Diploma or GED.  On a case-by-case basis, the Committee may 
determine that an applicant's experience or relevant training can be substituted 
for the requisite high school diploma or General Equivalency Diploma.  Any 
training or experience used for such substitution shall not be used to meet the 
minimum experience requirement. 

B. The mandatory minimum training requirements that must be met for each 
license grade and license type are contained in Table 2. 

C. Applicants for licensure must meet the minimum mandatory training 
requirements prior to sitting for the license exam.  It is the responsibility of the 
applicant to meet the mandatory training prior to sitting for an exam.  Failure to 
meet the training requirements for the license exam grade and type taken will 
result in the invalidation of the license exam and forfeiture of the exam fee. 

TRAINING HOUR REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE EXAMS 

Course Name Length D-SS D-1 D-2 D-3 D-4 T-
1 

T-
2 

T-
3 

T-
4 

PWS Rules and SDWA 
Compliance 8 hr X X X X X X X X X 

Basic Water Works Math 8 hr. X X X X X X X X X 
Applied Water Works Math 8 hr.   X X X  X X X 
Distribution Basic 24 hr. X X X X X     
Distribution Intermediate 24 hr.   X X X     
Distribution Advanced 24 hr.     X     
Treatment Basic 24 hr.      X X X X 
Treatment Intermediate 24 hr.       X X X 
Treatment Advanced 24 hr.        X X 
 Tot. hrs. 40 40 72 72 96 40 72 96 96 

 
Table 2 
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D. The Licensing Committee, after determining that a required training course is 
not, and has not been, reasonably available in a geographical area of the 
State, may waive the mandatory training requirement for that course and 
area, for a specified period of time. 

E. All operators sitting for an exam after January 1, 2003 must meet the required 
training.  Equivalent training attended prior to this date may be substituted for 
the required training requirements. 

F. Operators upgrading a license in good standing will be considered to have the 
training required for the license held. 

G. Education substitution for post-secondary degrees will be as follows: 

1. Bachelors or Associates of Science or Applied Science Degree in an 
applicable physical science may be substituted for all the minimum 
training requirements except the Rules Course and the course required 
for the specific license examination to be taken. 

2. A Bachelors or Associates of Applied Science in Water and Wastewater 
Technology may be substituted for the entire minimum training 
requirements except the Rules Course. 

3. Post secondary degrees used to meet Education requirements cannot 
also be used to meet Experience requirement. 

SECTION VIII.  EARN AND LEARN 

Pursuant to Act 811 of 2021, an applicant shall receive a water operator license if they meet 
the criteria set forth below. 

As used in this Rule, “apprenticeship” means a program that meets the federal guidelines set 
out in 29 C.F.R. Part 29, as existing on March 1, 2021, and approved by the United States 
Office of Apprenticeship as meeting the requirements of an apprenticeship. 

A. An applicant for licensure under this Rule shall provide satisfactory proof of 
completion of apprenticeship via official documentation from the apprenticeship 
program. This documentation may be in the form of a certificate, diploma, or 
similar official credential, or letter on official program letterhead. 

B. An applicant for licensure under this Rule shall provide satisfactory 
documentation that the completed apprenticeship program meets the federal 
guidelines set out in 29 C.F.R. Part 29, as existing on March 1, 2021, and that 
the program has been approved by the United States Office of Apprenticeship 
or the Arkansas Department of Workforce Services. 

C. An applicant for licensure under this Rule shall meet all the other non-
educational requirements for licensure under these Rules, including sections 
V., VI., IX., X., XII., and XV. 
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D. If an applicant is denied a license for failing to meet the criteria in A-C, the 
applicant shall be provided the reason for denial in writing. 

SECTION IX.  EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS 

A. Applicants for licensing shall be examined to determine their skills, knowledge, 
ability, and judgment in the safe and proper operation of a public water system. 
The examination must consist of validated questions and be developed utilizing 
proper exam development procedures and validation protocols. 

B. An individual desiring to obtain a Water Operator License by examination shall 
file a license application, including the required license and exam fees, with the 
certification program not later than 60 days preceding the date of examination. 
The application will be valid for one year. 

C. An individual desiring to be examined shall be required to provide adequate 
photographic identification prior to receiving and when returning an 
examination. All exams and related materials must be returned, prior to leaving 
the exam session. Failure to return the exam and related materials will result in 
administrative actions, penalties or criminal charges. 

D. Separate examinations shall be prepared for each certification classification. 
For grades I-IV a separate examination shall be prepared for the water 
treatment plant operation license and the distribution facility operation license.  

E. Grade I-IV examinations shall be written and consist of at least 100 
questions. The very small system examination shall be written and consist of 
at least 50 questions. All examinations will be closed book, with math 
formulas provided.  

F. All examinations shall be scored by the Committee, or by others designated by 
the Committee, and the applicant shall be notified of the outcome. The test 
booklet shall not be returned to the applicant. 

G. Applicants who fail to pass the examination may repeat the examination at 
subsequent examination sessions.  An additional examination fee is required 
for each examination.  This fee must be received 15 days prior to sitting for the 
exam.  An additional application is not required for repeated examinations, if 
the examination is repeated within one (1) year. 

SECTION X.  EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

A. Evaluation of the Experience requirement shall be based on completion of the 
following periods of approved work: 

1. Grade IV Treatment License Three (3) years 
Grade IV Distribution License Three (3) years 

2. Grade III Treatment License Two (2) years 
Grade III Distribution License Two (2) years 
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3. Grade II Treatment License One (1) Year 
Grade II Distribution License One (1) year 

4. Grade I Treatment License Six (6) months 
Grade I Distribution License Six (6) Months 

5. Small System Distribution License No experience requirement 

B. In order for work to meet the Experience requirement it must be from work or 
the supervision of work that is directly related to the license being obtained. 

C. Certain post-secondary degrees may be substituted for experience credit 
towards meeting the experience requirement.  The degree must be shown on 
the license application to be considered for credit.  Experience credit will be 
allowed as shown in Table 3 at the end of this section. 

D. Post secondary degree used to meet Experience requirement cannot be used 
to meet Education requirements. 

SECTION XI.  ISSUANCE OF LICENSES AND PERMITS 

A. A license shall not be issued to any applicant until the education, examination 
and experience requirements have been successfully completed, or until the 
applicant has been successfully evaluated for reciprocity. 

B. An Operator-In-Training certificate shall be issued to a license applicant when 
the experience requirement has not been completed and the license 
examination has been successfully completed. 

POST SECONDARY DEGREE EXPERIENCE CREDIT 

Post Secondary Degree License  Experience 
Allowed 

License Appropriate Water 
System Experience Required 

Bachelor of Science degrees in 
Engineering, Chemistry, Biology, or 
other applicable physical sciences 

Grade I 6 Months Not Applicable 
Grade II 9 Months 3 Months 
Grade III 18 Months 6 Months 
Grade IV 24 Months 12 Months 

Associate of Applied Science 
Degrees in Water and Wastewater 
Technology 

Grade I 6 Months Not Applicable 
Grade II 9 Months 3 Months 
Grade III 18 Months 6 Months 
Grade IV 24 Months 12 Months 

Associate of Applied Science 
Degrees in Engineering, Electronics, 
Environmental Science, or other 
applicable physical sciences 

Grade I 6 Months Not Applicable 
Grade II 6 Months 3 Months 
Grade III 9 Months 6 Months 
Grade IV 12 Months 12 Months 

 
Table 3 
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C. Temporary permits will not be issued.  To issue a Temporary Permit to an 
unlicensed operator of a public water system the Department must assure that 
its issuance will not jeopardize public health and safety. The Department 
cannot provide this assurance due to improved knowledge of water borne 
disease outbreaks and because Public Water Systems have an increased risk 
of microbial contamination. 

D. Inactive Licenses are no longer allowed.  Licenses placed in the inactive status, 
when it was allowed, may be reinstated at any time, after approval by the 
Department, by paying the required reinstatement fees and passing an 
examination on current Public Water System Rules, policies, and Safe Drinking 
Water Act compliance requirements. The Department shall require license 
examination be passed to reinstate the license if the inactive period exceeds 
ten (10) years.  Examinations may be waived provided the operator can prove 
through closely related work that the operator has kept current with present 
Public Water System requirements. 

SECTION XII.  FEES ESTABLISHED 

A. Examination 

The fee shall be $25.00 per examination, the initial exam fee shall be paid at 
the time of License Application and all subsequent exam fees must be received 
15 days in advance of the examination.  

B. License 

 The fee shall be $10.00, paid at the time of License Application. 

C. License Renewal 

 The fee shall be $10.00 for each two (2) year renewal period for each license or 
Operator-In-Training certificate renewed. 

D. Penalty for Late Renewal 

 The fee for penalty for late renewal shall be $5.00. 

E. Reciprocity Evaluation 

 The fee for evaluating an applicant for reciprocity shall be $25.00 per license 
evaluated. 

F. Reinstatement of Inactive License 

 The fee for reinstating an Inactive License shall be $10.00 for each renewal 
period during which the license has not been active, provided that the total fee 
shall not exceed $35.00. 

G. Reinstatement of Revoked License 
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The fee due to revocation shall be $10.00 for each two (2) year renewal period 
and $10.00 for a re-issuance of License. 

H. Initial Licensure Fee Waiver 

1. Pursuant to Act 725 of 2021, an applicant may receive a waiver of the 
initial licensure fee, if eligible. Eligible applicants are applicants who: 

a. Are receiving assistance through the Arkansas, or current state of 
residence equivalent, Medicaid Program, the Supplemental 
Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), the Special Supplemental 
Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (SSNP), the 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program (TEA), or the 
Lifeline Assistance Program (LAP); 

b. Were approved for unemployment within the last twelve (12) 
months; or 

c. Have an income that does not exceed two hundred percent 
(200%) of the federal poverty income guidelines. 

2. Applicants shall provide documentation showing their receipt of benefits 
from the appropriate State Agency: 

a. For Medicaid, SNAP, SSNP, TEA, or LAP, documentation from 
the Arkansas Department of Human Services (DHS), or current 
state of residence equivalent agency; 

b. For unemployment benefits approval in the last twelve (12) 
months, the Arkansas Department of Workforce Services, or 
current state of residence equivalent agency; or 

c. For proof of income, copies of all United States Internal Revenue 
Service Forms indicating applicant’s total personal income for the 
most recent tax year e.g., “W2,” “1099,” etc. 

3. Applicants shall attest that the documentation provided under (b) is a 
true and correct copy and fraudulent or fraudulently obtained 
documentation shall be grounds for denial or revocation of license. 

SECTION XIII.  EXAMINATION SESSIONS 

A. Arkansas Water Works and Water Environment Association District Meeting 

The Arkansas Department of Health shall assign personnel to conduct 
examinations for applicants for Licenses in each Arkansas Water Works and 
Water Environment Association District, upon request, during the months of 
July and November, at a predetermined and publicized location and time. 

B. Annual Industry Association Conferences 
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The Arkansas Department of Health shall assign personnel to conduct 
examinations for applicants for Licenses in conjunction with the annual 
conferences of all major industry associations, upon request, with time and 
place to be publicized. 

C. Other scheduled examination sessions. 

The Arkansas Department of Health shall assign personnel to conduct 
examinations for applicants for Licenses at other examination sessions set by 
the Committee, at a predetermined and publicized location. 

D. Special examinations  

Any applicant for License may request a special examination to be given at a 
date other than the normally scheduled exam session.  This request must be in 
writing to the Executive Secretary of the Licensing Committee and should detail 
the reasons the special examination is needed. 

SECTION XIV.  LICENSES 

A. Issued 

On satisfactory fulfillment of the certification requirements the Executive 
Secretary of the Committee shall issue a suitable license to the applicant 
designating their competency. The license shall state the licensed individual’s 
name, the license grade and the license number. 

B. Permanent 

 The license shall be permanent unless revoked for cause; replaced by a 
higher-grade license; invalidated due to Section XIV, Subsection A; or 
invalidated due to obtaining or renewing the license through fraud; deceit; or 
the submission of inaccurate qualifications or renewal data.  

C. Endorsement 

1. Required Qualifications. An applicant applying for reciprocal licensure 
shall meet the following requirements: 

a. The applicant shall hold a substantially similar license in another 
United States jurisdiction. 

1) A license from another state is substantially similar to an 
Arkansas Water Operator license if the other state’s 
licensure qualifications require: 

a) High School Diploma or GED 

b) Drinking Water training similar to Table 2 
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c) Passing of proficiency test meeting SECTION 
VIII.A 

d) Require Training instruction for License 
maintenance similar to SECTION XIV. A 

2) The applicant shall hold his or her occupational licensure 
in good standing; 

3) The applicant shall not have had a license revoked for: 

a) An act of bad faith; or 

b) A violation of law, rule, or ethics; 

4) The applicant shall not hold a suspended or probationary 
license in a United States jurisdiction; 

b. The applicant shall be sufficiently competent in drinking water 
treatment for treatment license or water distribution for 
distribution license; and 

c. Applicant should have knowledge and necessary skills to: 

1) Operate and maintain water treatment plants for 
treatment license. 

2) Operate and maintain water distribution for distribution 
license. 

3) These skills will include: 

a) Basic algebra, chemistry and biology knowledge; 
and, 

b) Mechanical and laboratory aptitude. 

2. Required documentation an applicant shall submit are a fully executed 
application, the required fee, and the documentation described below: 

a. As evidence that the applicant’s license from another 
jurisdiction is substantially similar to Arkansas’, the applicant 
shall submit the following information: 

1) Evidence of current and active licensure in that state.  
The Committee may verify this information online if the 
jurisdiction at issue provides primary source verification 
on its website or by telephone to the other’s state’s 
licensing board; and 
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2) Evidence that the other state’s licensure requirements 
match those listed in 1.a. The Board may verify this 
information online or by telephone to the other’s state’s 
licensing board. 

b. To demonstrate that the applicant meets the requirements in 1.a. 
1). through 4)., the applicant shall provide the Board with: 

1) The names of all states in which the applicant is currently 
licensed or has been previously licensed; 

2) Letters of good standing or other information from each 
state in which the applicant is currently or has ever been 
licensed showing that the applicant has not had his 
license revoked for the reasons listed in 1.a.3) and does 
not hold a license on suspended or probationary status as 
described in 1.a.4). The Board may verify this information 
online if the jurisdiction at issue provides primary source 
verification on its website or by telephone to the other’s 
state’s licensing board. 

c. As evidence that the applicant is sufficiently competent in the 
field of drinking water treatment for treatment license or water 
distribution for distribution license, an applicant shall: 

1) Pass an appropriate grade water treatment or water 
distribution license exam 

d. The following documentation must be provided: 

1) Proof License is current 

2) List of all state licenses as called for in C.2.b.1) 

3) Letters and other documents called for in C.2.b.2) 

3. Temporary and Provisional License 

a. Board shall issue a temporary and provisional license 
immediately upon receipt of the application, the required fee, and 
the documentation required under C.2.a. and b. 

b. The temporary and provisional license shall be effective for [at 
least 90 days] [or] [until the Board makes a decision on the 
application], unless the Board determines that the applicant does 
not meet the requirements in sections C.1.a. & b. & c., in which 
case the provisional and temporary license shall be immediately 
revoked. 
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c. An applicant may provide the rest of the documentation required 
above in order to receive a license, or the applicant may only 
provide the information necessary for the issuance of a 
temporary and provisional license. 

D. Reciprocity from State not Offering Reciprocity to Arkansas Water Operators 

1. The Board shall require an applicant to take the mandatory license 
training as shown in Table 2 or document substantially equivalent 
training to Table 2 requirements if the applicant is licensed in another 
state that does not offer reciprocity to Arkansas residents that is similar 
to reciprocity provided to out-of-state applicants in A.C.A. § 17-1-108. 

2. Reciprocity in another state will be considered similar to reciprocity 
under A.C.A. § 17-1-108 if the reciprocity provisions in the other state: 

a. Provide the least restrictive path to licensure for Arkansas 
applicants; 

b. Do not require Arkansas applicants to participate in the 
apprenticeship, education, or training required as a prerequisite 
to licensure of a new professional in that state, except that the 
state may require Arkansas applicants to participate in continuing 
education or training that is required for all professionals in that 
state to maintain the licensure. 

c. Do not require Arkansas applicants to take a state-specific 
education unless required to do so under the same conditions 
described in A.C.A. § 17-1-108. 

E. License for Person from State that doesn’t License Water Operators 

1. Required Qualifications. An applicant from a state that does not license 
Drinking Water Treatment or Distribution Operators shall meet the 
following requirements: 

a. The applicant shall be sufficiently competent in drinking water 
treatment for treatment license or water distribution for 
distribution license; and 

b. The applicant must: 

1) Meet the mandatory license training as shown in Table 2 

2) Pass an appropriate grade water treatment or water 
distribution license exam 

3) Fulfill the Experience requirements listed in Section IX 
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2. Required documentation an applicant shall submit are fully executed 
application, the required fee, and the documentation described below: 

a. As evidence that the applicant is sufficiently competent in the 
field of drinking water treatment for treatment license or water 
distribution for distribution license, an applicant shall: 

1) Pass an appropriate grade water treatment or water 
distribution license exam 

2) The applicant must: 

a) Document attendance completion of the mandatory 
license training as shown in Table 2; 

b) Document passing the appropriate grade water 
treatment or water distribution license exam; and, 

c) Document fulfillment of the experience 
requirements listed in Section IX for the license. 

F. Automatic Licensure 

1. Definitions 

a. “Automatic licensure” means granting the occupational licensure 
without an individual having met occupational licensure 
requirements provided under the Arkansas Code or by other 
provisions in these Rules. 

b. “Automatic occupational licensure” means granting of 
occupational licensure to an individual who establishes residency 
in this state without the individual’s having met occupational 
licensure requirements provided under this title or by the rules of 
the relevant occupational licensing entity. 

c. “Uniformed service member" means an active or reserve 
component member of the United States Air Force, United States 
Army, United States Coast Guard, United States Marine Corps, 
United States Navy, United States Space Force, or National 
Guard; an active component member of the National Oceanic 
and Atmospheric Administration Commissioned Officer Corps; or 
an active or reserve component member of the United States 
Commissioned Corps of the Public Health Service. 

d. “Uniformed service veteran" means a former member of the 
United States uniformed services discharged under conditions 
other than dishonorable. 

2. Applicability 
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a. This Rule applies to a: 

1) uniformed service member stationed in the State of 
Arkansas; 

2) uniformed service veteran who resides in or establishes 
residency in the State of Arkansas; 

3) The spouse of (1) or (2) including a: 

uniformed service member who is assigned a tour of duty 
that excludes the spouse from accompanying the 
uniformed service member and the spouse relocates to 
Arkansas; or, 

uniformed service member who is killed or succumbs to 
his or her injuries or illness in the line of duty if the spouse 
establishes residency in Arkansas. 

3. Automatic Licensure 

a. Automatic Licensure shall be granted to persons listed in Section 
2(a) if: 

1) The person is a holder in good standing of occupational 
licensure with similar scope of practice issued by another 
state, territory, or district of the United States and; 

2) The person pays the applicable licensure fees in Section 
XII. 

b. Automatic Occupational Licensure for Out-of-State Licensure Act, 
Act 457 of 2023 

1) An applicant shall be eligible for automatic occupational 
licensure if: 

a) The applicant is either: 

(i) In good standing for at least one (1) year for Water 
Operator License with similar scope of practice 
issued by another state, territory or district of the 
United States; or, 

(ii) Has worked for at least three (3) years in the Water 
Operator occupation in another state, territory, or 
district of the United States that does not use a 
Water Operator License. 
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b) The applicant does not have a disqualifying 
criminal offense under Ark. Code Ann. 17-3-102 or 
under any additional state law relating to the Water 
Operator licensure; 

c)  The applicant does not have a complaint, 
allegation, or investigation pending in his or her 
occupational activity in this state or in the state of 
the applicant’s previous residency where the Water 
Operator licensure was granted: 

d) The applicant passes an examination specific to 
relevant state laws that regulate the Water 
Operator occupation; and, 

2) The Department of Health may waive the requirement for 
the applicant to pass an examination specific to relevant 
state laws that regulator Water Operator occupation if the 
Department finds that: 

a) The combination of the applicant’s education, 
training, and experience is a sufficient substitute for 
the state law examination requirements; and, 

b)  A waiver by the Department will not harm public 
health, safety, or welfare. 

3) Upon the applicant being granted automatic occupational 
licensure, the applicant shall: 

a) Meet all the Water Operator licensure 
requirements; and, 

b) Meet all renewal requirements of the Water 
Operator licensure, including, without limitation, a 
criminal background check and continuing 
education hours. 

c) Pay the licensure fee in Section XI.A. 

4. Credit toward initial licensure 

Relevant and applicable uniformed service education, training, national 
certification or service-issued credential shall be accepted toward initial 
licensure. 

5. Expiration Dates and Continuing Education 

a. A license expiration date shall be extended for a deployed 
uniformed service member or spouse for one hundred eighty 
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(180) days following the date of the uniformed service member's 
return from deployment. 

b. A uniformed service member or spouse shall be exempt from 
continuing education requirements in Section XIV.A for one 
hundred eighty (180) days following the date of the uniformed 
service member's return from deployment. 

c. Any uniformed service member or spouse exercising the 
exemption shall provide evidence of completion of continuing 
education before renewal or grant of a subsequent license. 

G. Suspension 

The Department with the knowledge and approval of the Director of the 
Arkansas Department of Health shall suspend a Water Operator’s license, 
Operator-In-Training certificate or deny issuance of a license or certificate for 
cause, including but not limited to when it is found the license holder, operator 
in training or applicant: 

1. Has practiced fraud or deception; 

2. That reasonable care, judgment, or the application of their knowledge or 
ability was not used in the performance of their duties that resulted in 
water quality being compromised or any non-compliance with any state 
or federal requirement; 

3. That the license holder, operator in training or applicant is incompetent, 
unable or not willing to perform their duties properly. 

The suspension or denial shall remain in effect until the Committee reviews the 
case. 

H. Revocation 

The Committee shall hold a public hearing into the suspension. The 
Department will present their case and the Water Operator will have the 
opportunity to present his or her defense. The Committee shall then uphold or 
deny the suspension. If the suspension is upheld, the Committee shall report 
the findings of the Public Hearing to the Board and recommend the license 
remain suspended for a recommended time period or be revoked. The Board 
shall then reinstate, suspend or revoke the license. 

I. Reinstatement 

Any Licensed Water System Operator or Operator-In-Training who for any 
reason, other than revocation, desires to have a license reinstated may 
request, in a hearing before the Committee; that the Committee re-instate the 
license, with or without conditions. If the license is re-instated, payment of the 
applicable fees under Section XI, Subsection C and F must be remitted. 
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SECTION XV.  MAINTENANCE OF LICENSE 

A. In order to renew a Water Operator License or Operator-In-Training Certificate, 
the operator must certify to the Committee the attendance, at a minimum, of 
twenty-four (24) hours per two-year renewal period of approved training 
instruction. No additional training instruction will be required to renew additional 
licenses each renewal period. At least twelve (12) of the approved hours must 
be in subjects directly applicable to the field of water supply, treatment, 
distribution, pumping, metering, or management; or the study of approved 
materials on the same subjects. The remaining twelve (12) hours of approved 
training may be indirectly applicable subject matter, such as personal operator 
safety, wastewater, plumbing inspection or cross-connection control 
certification courses. The various water operator associations’ annual and 
monthly district meetings will be considered as directly applicable training.  This 
subsection is effective with the start of the July 1, 2003 to June 30, 2005 
renewal period. 

B. The Water Operator is responsible for submitting adequate documentation of 
the completion of the required training, at the time of license renewal. This 
documentation must include the date, subject, sponsor, and number of 
approved training hours for each training session completed and submitted for 
training credit. 

C. A License that has not been renewed in accordance with this section, within 
ninety days after the license has expired, shall be lapsed and invalid. 

D. Any licensee whose License has expired can request, within one (1) year of the 
date of expiration, the license be reinstated by the Department upon 
documentation of past renewal training requirements and the payment of the 
fees as stated in Section XI, Subsection C and D. 

E. A Water Operator license or Operator-In-Training certificate that has been 
expired for more than one (1) year cannot be reinstated. It is necessary for 
such a license or certificate holder to reapply and be reexamined according to 
the requirements for new applicants. 

SECTION XVI. SPECIAL PURPOSE LICENSE 

A special purpose license is authorized for Transient Non-Community Public Water 
Systems that utilize groundwater sources that are Surface Water Influenced Sources.  
The license shall be restricted to these systems that utilize cartridge/bag filtration 
technology.  The License exam will be a modified Small Water System License with 
specific questions added related to the very specialized simple to operate water 
treatment equipment (cartridge filtration) and microbial inactivation processes, being 
utilized by these systems to meet the Safe Drinking Water Act.  The Act requires these 
systems to be operated by qualified personnel and this license will be used to 
demonstrate the operators of these systems meet that requirement. 



RULES PERTAINING TO WATER OPERATOR LICENSING 
 

21 

The license exam shall have a minimum of 50 questions related to the topics of 
cartridge/bag filtration technology, microbial inactivation processes, surface water 
treatment rules, water distribution questions, and groundwater sources.  Holders of this 
license shall be required to meet the same maintenance of license requirements as a 
Small System Distribution License holder or attend an Arkansas Department of Health 
renewal training course, each renewal period, designed specifically to address this type 
of system and the technology to which this license applies. 

Operators of these specific systems may also utilize the Treatment and Distribution 
Licenses required of Surface Source Transient Non-Community Public Water Systems. 

SECTION XVII. DRINKING WATER ADVISORY AND OPERATOR LICENSING 
COMMITTEE 

A. The Committee shall elect a Chair who shall serve for a term of one year.  The 
election shall occur at the first meeting of the state fiscal year. 

B. The Committee shall utilize "Robert's Rules of Order" as a guide for procedures 
for conducting business. 

C. In the event that more than one person is appointed to the Committee at a 
particular Board meeting, the new appointees shall draw lots to determine 
which of the vacant terms that each shall fill. 

SECTION XVIII.  MEETINGS 

The Licensing Committee shall meet at least once a year and in special meetings called 
by the Chair or requested by the Arkansas Department of Health. 

SECTION XIX.  ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY AUTHORITY 

The Arkansas Department of Health shall have the authority to assess administrative 
penalties against any individual or any public water system for failure to comply with any 
portion of these rules, in accordance with the requirements of A.C.A §§ 20-7-101, et 
seq, and A.C.A §§ 14-262-101, et seq. 

SECTION XXI.  SEVERABILITY  

If any provision of these Rules, or the application thereof to any person or 
circumstances is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or 
applications of these Rules which can be given effect without the invalid provisions or 
applications, and to this end the provisions hereto are declared to be severable. 
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CERTIFICATION 

This will certify that the foregoing Rules Pertaining to Water Operator Licensing were adopted 
by the Arkansas Board of Health at a regular session of said Board held in Little Rock, 
Arkansas, on the ____ day of ______________, 2023. 

 

      
      ________________________________ 
      Jennifer Dillaha, MD 
      Secretary of Arkansas State Board of Health 
      Director of the Arkansas Department of Health 
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NOTE 1 : Chlorine addition alone is not considered Treatment.

NOTE 2:  Physical Treatment Units such as Aerators, Sedimentation Basins,
Clarifiers or Filters require a higher grade license.

NOTE 3: Chemical Addition is the addition of chemicals such as fluoride, soda ash,
or phosphates.

NOTE 4: Population for Treatment License includes Consecutive System population.

NOTE 5: Supervisory staff is meant to differentiate between the key management
staff and other system employees required to license.  The purpose is to
create a career ladder concept to licensing.
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System’s population if it is operated by this water system

NOTE 3 : Chlorine addition alone is not considered Treatment in the
Regulations.

NOTE 4: Supervisory staff is meant to differentiate between the key
management staff and other system employees required to license.
The purpose is to create a career ladder concept to licensing.
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