



Arkansas Department of Health

Arkansas State Board of Nursing
1123 S. University Ave., #800 • Little Rock, Arkansas 72204 • (501) 686-2700 • Fax (501) 686-2714
Governor Asa Hutchinson
José R. Romero, MD, Secretary of Health
Sue A. Tedford, MNSc, APRN, Director

MINIMUM GUIDELINES FOR ASBN APPROVED REFRESHER COURSES

- 1. There shall be at least 40 hours of theory content related to review and update of essential nursing knowledge and skills.
- 2. Theory content shall, at a minimum, include information related to:
 - role-scope RN and PN practice in Arkansas
 - delegation
 - Arkansas Nurse Practice Act
 - review of physical assessment
 - review of pharmacology & med administration concepts & commonly used drugs, including IV therapy
 - pain management update
 - infection control update
 - essential equipment and procedures update
 - review of core nursing skills
 - current trends in health care (e.g. managed care, mutual recognition, critical paths, continued competence)
- 3. Theory content must have written measurable objectives and required readings activities.
- 4. Theory content may be delivered in a classroom setting or through an independent learning method.
- 5. There shall be a method of assessment/progression to determine participant's understanding of content material. The syllabus shall reflect the grading criteria and performance indicators required for successful completion of the course.
- 6. There shall be at least 80 hours of supervised clinical practice.
- 7. There shall be written measurable clinical objectives.
- 8. The supervisor of the clinical practice must be a nurse (faculty member or preceptor) approved by the course coordinator. If a preceptor is used, the following must be met:

PRECEPTOR QUALIFICATIONS

- a. A currently licensed nurse according to the law in Arkansas (or the state/country in which the employing agency is located).
- b. Have at least one (1) year of work experience, preferably hold the same or higher educational credential as that of the refresher course participant, and be able to facilitate learning.

PRECEPTOR CRITERIA

- c. Prior to the preceptorial clinical experiences, appropriate prerequisite learning shall have occurred.
- d. The refresher course participant shall be enrolled in the course in which the preceptorial learning activity occurs and shall not be reimbursed for nursing services by the agency during this time.
- e. The selection, approval, and role development of preceptors shall be documented in writing by the refresher course faculty.
- f. Prior to and throughout the preceptorial learning activities, faculty shall interact with preceptors, individually or in groups, to clarify roles and the nature of the learning activities.
- g. The preceptor shall be assigned no more than two refresher course participants at any given time.





Arkansas Department of Health

Arkansas State Board of Nursing
1123 S. University Ave., #800 • Little Rock, Arkansas 72204 • (501) 686-2700 • Fax (501) 686-2714
Governor Asa Hutchinson
José R. Romero, MD, Secretary of Health
Sue A. Tedford, MNSc, APRN, Director

MINIMUM GUIDELINES FOR ASBN APPROVED REFRESHER COURSES

- h. Each refresher course participant shall have a designated faculty member who is responsible for the preceptorial learning activity.
- i. Faculty shall be readily available for consultation with refresher course participant and preceptors during preceptorial experiences.
- 9. There shall be a written affiliation agreement between the facility, the participant and the nurse supervisor, specifying guidelines for the clinical practice experience.
- 10. Participant with an inactive license shall be required to have a valid temporary permit issued by the ASBN for attendance/participation in the refresher course. This permit cannot be used for employment in a facility while enrolled in refresher course.
- 11. The participant shall be required to be CPR certified according to clinical agency guidelines prior to clinical practice experience.
- 12. The participant shall be required to have liability insurance.
- 13. There shall be a checklist of required nursing skills to include competency testing for participant. Completed checklist must be filed with course records.
- 14. Agency offering the refresher course will issue a certification of completion to participants who have successfully completed course and will notify the ASBN of participants satisfactory completion.
- 15. Agency offering refresher course must hold documentation of ASBN approval of the course prior to participant attendance.
- 16. The refresher course shall set time limits for completion of the course, both theory and clinical components.