Minutes Arkansas State Board of Optometry Regular Board Meeting Freeway Medical Tower Building Little Rock, Arkansas August 18, 2022

Dr. Bryant Ashley, Board President, called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. All Board members were present.

Also in attendance were: Tanya Ford, Board Director; Dawanna Walls, Fiscal Support Specialist; Lacie Kirchner, Asst. Attorney General and Board Council; Matt Gilmore, Arkansas Department of Health; Vicki Farmer, Executive Director, ArOA; Debbie Henley, Executive Assistant, ArOA; Dr. Allison Hall, Dr. Emily Merwin.

The minutes from the June 23, 2022 meeting was presented by Dr. Reed. Mr. Gentry made a motion to approve. Dr. Hennessey made a second. The motion passed.

The State Board Update was presented by Ms. Ford: It included the financial report which was the year-end report. The Board is under budget for the year with no major expenditures for the month of June. Dr. Hennessey made a motion to approve the financial report. Dr. Reed made a second. The motion passed. Ms. Ford introduced Dawanna Walls as the new Fiscal Support Specialist, and Ms. Walls was welcomed by the Board.

Dr. Ashley reported that Dr. DeBlack was reappointed by the governor for a 5 year term, and that when an appointment is made, an election of officers is held.

The floor was opened for officer nominations:

Dr. DeBlack made a motion to nominate Dr. Reed to remain in the position of Secretary-Treasurer; Dr. Hennessey made a second. The motion passed.

Dr. Reed made a motion to nominate Dr. Hennessey to remain in the position of Vice President. Dr. Ashley made a second. The motion passed.

Dr. Hennessey made a motion to nominate Dr. Ashley to remain in the position of President. Mr. Gentry made a second. The motion passed.

ARBO (Association of Regulatory Boards of Optometry) Action Items; Dr. Hennessey reported that he would review the list of action items and we will began discussing them at the next meeting.

Dr. Emily Merwin, a licensure by endorsement candidate, was interviewed by the Board. Mr. Gentry made a motion to approve licensure pending satisfactory completion of all requirements. Dr. Hennessey made a second. The motion passed.

The ASOS (American Society of Optometric Surgeons) Event report was given by Dr. Reed and Dr. Ashley. The Event was held August 5th at the NBEO (National Board of Examiners in Optometry) office in Charlotte, North Carolina and was open to all optometrists. The event included courses on anterior segment laser procedures, surgical histopathology, and optometric cryosurgery. Cryosurgery is within the scope of practice in Arkansas. The event also included a tour of the NBEO offices.

The update on Divas Beauty Supply was given by Dr. Ashley and Ms. Kirchner. The business was fined \$5000.00 plus investigation fees of \$358.11 for sale of contact lens violations. The business signed the Consent Agreement and has 1 year to pay the fine.

The Optometry Rules (formerly Rules and Regulations) changes were presented by Ms. Kirchner. A draft will be emailed to Board members to begin the process of finalizing the document. The final document will need to be approved by the Rules Committee in the State Legislature.

Meeting Dates for 2023

February 16

April 20 moved to April 26

ArOA Convention - April 27-29

June 15

ARBO -June 18-20

AOA -June 21-24

August 17

October 19

November 16

Mr. Gentry made a motion to accept the dates. Dr. Hennessey made a second. The motion passed.

Dr. Ashley reported on the importance of making sure that CE given by ophthalmologists is not in violation of the kick-back law.

ArOA Fall Convention date September 30- October 1, 2022. Jurisprudence Course given.

Next meeting date October 20, 2022. Dr. Ashley has a conflict and will not be in attendance.

November 17, 2022 is last meeting date for the year.

Dr. Hennessey made a motion for the Board to be paid Per Diem and Mileage. Dr. DeBlack made a second. The motion passed.

Dr. Hennessey made a motion to adjourn. Dr. DeBlack made a second. The motion passed. The meeting adjourned at 2:25 p.m.

Dr. Beatrice Reed, Secretary-Treasurer

Dr. Bryant Ashley, President