

# **Arkansas Department of Health**

#### **Arkansas State Board of Dietetics Licensing**

5800 W. 10<sup>th</sup> Street • Suite 103 • Little Rock, AR 72204 • (501) 661-2530 ardiet@arkansas.gov • www.healthyarkansas.gov

Governor Sarah Huckabee Sanders Renee Mallory, RN, BSN, Secretary of Health Pamela Tanner, Director

# **FAQs**

#### How do I apply for a dietetics license in Arkansas?

- (1). Complete a New Application Form (online electronic or PDF printable).
- (2). Include a copy of your Notary Page and CDR Card
- (3). Include Check or Money Order for exact amount due.
- (4). Send supporting documents by Email to <a href="mailto:ARDiet@arkansas.gov">ARDiet@arkansas.gov</a> or mail to:

5800 W. 10<sup>th</sup> Street Suite 103 Little Rock, AR 72204

## How do I verify the licensure of dietitians and what does it cost?

Send your requested list of name(s) to Board by Email to <a href="mailto:ARDiet@arkansas.gov">ARDiet@arkansas.gov</a> or Mail to:

5800 W. 10<sup>th</sup> Street Suite 103 Little Rock, AR 72204

There is no fee for this service.

## How long is the dietitian license valid?

Licenses must be renewed yearly.

#### How will I know when it is time to renew my license?

The expiration date is printed on the license card. All licensees will be sent a renewal notice at least 60 days prior to expiration to the most current email address on file.

#### What happens if I do not receive a renewal letter in email?

It is the responsibility of every licensee to notify the Board of any address changes within 30 days. Failure to receive a renewal notice shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew the license. You may access applications (online electronic or PDF printable) on our website Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board Arkansas Department of Health

#### How much is my renewal fee?

New License Fee	\$110.00 (currently reduced to \$6.00 through 6/30/24)
Renewal License Fee	\$50.00 (currently reduced to \$3.00 through 6/30/24)
Provisional License Fee	\$150.00 (currently reduced to \$8.00 through 6/30/24)
Late Fee	= to ½ of License Fee if No More Than 30 days Late  = to License Fee if More Than 30 days Late, but less than one year.
	Must apply for a New License, meet all requirements of New Licensee if license is expired more than one year.
Duplicate / Replacement Card	\$25.00

#### I live in another state. Do I have to be licensed in Arkansas?

Yes, if you are practicing for more than one-hundred-eighty(180) consecutive working days. See <u>Act 392</u> as posted on this website for additional information.

#### What should I do if I have a name or address change?

It is the responsibility of every licensee to notify the board of any name or address change within 30 days of the effective date of the change. For name changes, you must submit a copy of marriage license or court document verifying the name change. Name and address changes can be emailed to <a href="mailto:ARDiet@arkansas.gov">ARDiet@arkansas.gov</a>

#### If my license is lost or stolen, can I have it replaced?

You may send a written or email request for a replacement. There is a \$25 replacement fee.

#### How are non-RD's eligible for licensure?

Only through provisional licensure – waiting to pass the registration exam administered by CDR. Provisional licensees can practice only under the supervision of a licensed dietitian in this state.

# Who should be licensed and what consequences are there for Registered Dietitians who are not licensed?

- This depends on what your employer requires. The Act exempts any dietitian employed by a hospital or LTC facility licensed by the State Dept. of Health or DHS...if that person's practice of dietetics is related to their employment.
- All others practicing dietetics are required to be licensed.
- Most hospitals require licensure.
- Many insurance companies use licensure as a standard for reimbursement of dietitians' services, so employers naturally want their dietetics staff to be licensed.

#### What fields are included/excluded from licensure?

- Please see the Act (posted on this website) as it spells out whom. Exemptions are basically for teachers, physicians, nurses, etc. who could be determined as "practicing dietetics" in their daily professional lives.
- In addition, RD eligible dietitians who did not have RD status were grandfathered in as LD's ONLY the first year the Act was in place. These few people are LD's but not RD's.

#### How do I report a complaint against a licensed individual?

Within 30 days of alleged violation, submit completed complaint form, which can be found on our website & return to Board by email to <a href="mailto:ARDiet@arkansas.gov">ARDiet@arkansas.gov</a> or mail to:

5800 W. 10<sup>th</sup> Street Suite 103 Little Rock, AR 72204

# If I do report someone for illegally or inappropriately using the term "dietitian", I understand that I must sign my complaint. However, can the Licensing Board maintain my identity as confidential?

- No, the person complained against receives a copy of the complaint.
- The ADLB can also investigate someone on its own, but only through the Attorney General's office.